The Changing Seasons: February 2016

What a perfect theme for WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge this week! Just in time for this post in “The Changing Seasons” challenge that I finished up today!

If you don’t already know about “The Changing Seasons” challenge in this blog, you can read the “guidelines/rules” in the end of this post.  February is here and it’s definitely not my favorite month. I’m not sure if I have a favorite month, but if I do, it must be one of the summer months. I just generally like the summer. I don’t hate February or anything, but since I’m living in the Northern hemisphere, February equals winter time: in other words we’re talking snow, rain, wet, cold, darkness, naked trees, dark forests – you know, all that stuff that probably inspires the makers of black metal music.

Since my last ‘Changing Seasons’ post, I’ve shot exactly 14 photos of Oslo and they basically all look the same since they were shot at the same vantage point and on the same night. I haven’t been out much with my camera lately. Come to think of it I’ve hardly been outside at all (unless you’re counting commuting of course), but every month I have to go out and capture something.

February and winter time is perfect for indoor projects. There was a blogger that posted a photo of a vodka bottle – I can’t remember which blogger it was (at first I thought it was Amy, but it wasn’t. Then I thought maybe Laura…). Anyway, it  was someone who uses the arbitrary retared rollercoaster system (link opens in new window) for measurements, because her bottle was measured in some kind of mathematically weird way. Since I have the same bottle at home and I felt inspired by this blogger, I decided one evening that I should play with it too. You’ll see one of those photos in the gallery. Also, I added one from last weekend’s visit to the tattoo convention in Budapest. Now, before you ask: yes, I actually went all the way to Budapest just to attend a tattoo convention (I realize that it’s kind of geeky/weird, but hey! I love tattoos!). Later I’ll write-up a post about the Budapest convention, complete with photos plus an interview with Hungary’s most talented artist ((which also happens to be probably the world’s most beautiful tattoo artist), but for now I’ll only share this one photo.
I have two more photos from this event in my other blog if you’re interested: https://artishorseshit.wordpress.com/2016/02/17/balogh-daniels-photos-from-budapest-tattoo-convention/

What else happened in February? A major thing, for me: a bunch of February’s ago, I was born. Every year that has passed since then, I’ve been around long enough to make another ride around the sun on this circus of a planet. 🙂 That’s why that is one of the things that I’ve always associated with this month. The summer is still far away, but slowly, slowly we’re getting there… (יש תקווה).

Enough random blah, blah and scattered thoughts. This is my V2 post for February:

Birthday wishes | Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday / What a Circus! / You’ve made another round around the sun

For the changing seasons V1, I have this tiny gallery. The photo of the skull is actually more of a V2 photo, but who cares? 🙂

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2016» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month. Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2016. It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed. These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
  • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

 

Check out the links to other entries:

 

108 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: February 2016

  1. When did you go to Budapest? I must have missed something. Your birthday poster with a sundial and clock in place of eyes is brilliant, but the rest of the stuff too. This is a short month, which is not a bad thing considering that we all need a break from winter, but the bad news is that we have one day less to get ready for your challenge.

  2. So you’re a year older? Hope you celebrated just a little. Gotta get my 2nd installment of your challenge together to post!

        • Hmm…. What level am I on… What can I say? It’s a round level, one of the few major ones. Statistically speaking, you have maybe 8 of these “major levels”, some even reach 9, or even 10 levels. A tiny handful of people actually reach the 11th major level, but then you’re a total boss! No one will ever dare to fight you!
          You know, the level I’m at now is one of those levels where you’ve (throughout the game) fought a relatively large crew here & there, plus a couple of bosses or more (some large bosses, some small ones), in order to move on. I’ve done that: I fought different crews, plus a handful of bosses throughout the game. On this level you’re supposed to be set and things are supposed to run smoothly for a while: you’re supposed to have your own family, your own home, a car or two, insurance policies, all that shit, but unfortunately I fucked up some major things on earlier levels, so I haven’t reached all the goals that you’re supposed to have reached at this point…
          Well, like the white collars say: “Be that as it may”, or if you prefer the ghetto version: “It is what it is”, that’s where I’m at now and you can’t go back in the game and redo levels, because that would be cheating.A lto of people have dreamed about cheating, but no one has found a glitch yet.

          At this point in the game, even though there are many things that I haven’t achieved, I still have tons of street cred from those early levels and the only goal now, is to give my son the best foundation he can get to make it through his game. The only problem with that is that rules and situations are constantly changing in the game, so my levels will look completely different than his… Still there are some things that won’t change:
          – Take care of your loved one & loved ones.
          – Have fun, but don’t get addicted to it.
          – Their shit stinks too (so it doesn’t matter what they think).
          – Improvise.

    • Thanks Jo. To tell you the truth, my birthday was just another boring day at work with no major events whatsoever, but celebrating it with my friend in Budapest the following weekend was fucking epic!

  3. Perfect timing!! It has been a brief and not awful winter, but I grabbed the pictures when I could. By next month, we’ll have the first crocuses and the songbirds will return. How quickly the world turns. Thanks for being such a wonderful host and such an inspiring photographer.

    And most of all, Happy Birthday!

    • One of my friends always say “Fokus på krokus” when shit hits the fan. It means “focus on the crocus” – under all those layers of snow and ice, they’re waiting to pop up up and give sign of spring, better times.
      I am not so sure about inspiring photographer though – I’ve been feeling uninspired lately, but thanks for the kind words and have a great weekend!

  4. Yes, there’s hope 😉

    Belated happy birthday … another step up the ladder … another trip around the sun.

    Gorgeous pictures, as usual. I so enjoy to look at the ones of Oslo. Tomorrow, the camera and I will be going to the park — last chance before a couple of snowstorms arrive.

  5. Oslo looks very pretty at night. Great view on top of the city. I am enjoying all of your photos on your Instagram, and the tattoo convention looked very full on with all those artists around. Flying far for something you are passionate about enough, props to you for that and it must have been a once in a lifetime experience 😀 For me, at some point I see myself flying across the world to do concerts of bands I’ve always wanted to see.

    Happy Birthday, Cardinal. Hope it was a good day. With some cake 🙂

    • The view from up there is great and luckily it’s close to home as well. The tattoo convention was good and we had fun in Budapest. Unfortunately we didn’t get to see much of the city, but hopefully next time.

  6. Your words ‘another ride around the sun on this circus of a planet’ will be top of mind from now on when my birthday rolls around. EXACTLY!. And the skull image is perfect with the clock in his eye. Wonderful. I also really like the picture of your favorite tattoo artist in action. Will be by in a few days with my ‘February – The Changing Seasons’ post. Enjoy your next ride round the sun 🌏🌞🎈

  7. Pingback: The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge – Seasons | Let There be Peace on Earth

  8. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2/12 – Mara Eastern

  9. Pingback: changing seasons | v2 | two | andy townend

  10. Pingback: February-The Changing Seasons V2 | the beespeak

  11. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: February – freshpaula

  12. Pingback: CEE’S BLACK & WHITE PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEATHER | Let There be Peace on Earth

  13. Pingback: Changing Season – February Freeze | My Life Lived Full

  14. Pingback: February 2016-The Changing Seasons V1 | the beespeak

  15. Pingback: Changing Season ~ February 2016 – tassitus

  16. Pingback: Changing Seasons at the Crags: February – Aspernauts

  17. Hope you had a great birthday. Did you treat yourself to some ink? (I will be checking out your convention pics with interest!)

    On the subject of birthdays – that’s a very thought provoking photo you’ve posted there! On the subject of ink – I’m booked in for a new tattoo next week (so excited!) and on the subject of Seasons – here’s my February entry:
    http://aspernauts.com/2016/02/23/changing-seasons-at-the-crags-february/

    I love your new theme by the way. Your blog’s looking really nice! 🙂

    • Before the tattoo convention I’d already decided on an artist, but I didn’t get any at the convention, because Zsófia had some large pieces she needed to finish. I’m currently working on a full-sleeve that I started in November and continued in December & January. Now it’s one (maybe two) more visits to the artist before it’s done. After that I’ll get something from Zsófia, perhaps a full leg (+ the foot?). It’ll take some time though, because I’ll have to travel to get it done and she’s usually booked several months in advance.
      Looking forward to see your new ink! It’s always exciting to get new tattoos! I’ll head over and take a look at your entry now.

      • I can comfortably (ok, maybe not comfortably exactly – but you know what I mean) take about two hours of tattooing in any one sitting. Any longer and I start getting a bit delirious! With time allowed for healing I can see how a full sleeve would take several months. As for a full leg?! Now that’s some serious ink lovin’! 🙂

        • In one week I did the bottom half of the sleeve: two 8 hour sessions, plus a couple of hours of outlining in the first session. That was at a tattoo studio in Thailand. After that I’ve done the top of the sleeve (elbow to chest) in two 5 hour sessions so far. In my last session I experienced something new: suddenly I reached my pain threshold – a weird feeling. The tattoo artist told me that we only had 10-15 minutes left on some shading before we were done for the day, so I told him to continue, but I just couldn’t handle it anymore and we had to stop. 😀
          I’ll have to wait and see with the full leg, it depends a bit on how the job situation will develop when spring/early summer comes. It’s in my plans, but it might take a while.
          I’d also like to get some more stuff on my back: there’s a large back piece there, but ‘plenty’/some space left on the edges because of the oval shape of the piece that’s already there. Again, it depends on the work/economy…

  18. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – Sydney: February | Pics by Kaz

  19. Pingback: February

  20. Pingback: February: Windmill Hill Twilight | Tish Farrell

  21. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: Frantic February – TRAVEL WORDS

  22. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – February – f-stopmama

  23. Pingback: February – Behind the scenes… – Captivate Me

  24. Oh my goodness, you sound like me, except we are in the throes of summer ending over here. Anyway it’s been too too hot. Yuk! Sooo… I too have been photographing inside. The vodka bottle is mine…lol.. though I didn’t look closely enough to know it was mathematically challenged…haha! Glad you’ve been experimenting with it. I like the purple and red with the glass.
    I’m glad you made it outside to capture Oslo for Feb.
    Happy Birthday!! Hope it was a good one. Wishing you a very happy year ahead! 🎉🎂🎁

    • Aha! Yes, you’re the blogger behind the vodka bottle: Robyn – the mysterious vodka bloggger!
      My red/pink/purple-ish background is actually a huge orange poster that a girl from Mexico forgot in my apartment. I used it as a background and then changed the color and tones during the post-processing.
      “Too hot”? This is a term that I, as a Norwegian, is unfamiliar with when we’re talking about weather temperatures. I actually have difficulties grasping the concept of a “too hot summer”. 😀
      A lot of other things can be too hot: “this coffee was too hot”, that woman is too hot”, etc, etc.

      Thanks for your wishes Robyn, but most of all thanks for the inspiration to photograph the vodka bottle. I’d been thinking about doing it for ages, but didn’t – then you came blogging along with your inspiration

      • Yes it is I 😃💀
        I love that you used a poster as your background. I think I grabbed a textured lid off of a storage box..lol
        Anyway the colours worked! Love the way it worked with the glass. Mine needed to be mono for what I wanted.
        Hot. I should clarify. As an Aussie, you think I’d be used to the heat – It’s the humidity that makes it unbearable – dry heat is ok, especially if you can spend time near the water 😎😄 I like Spring and Autumn most of all!! Enjoy your summer when it rolls around again.
        Very happy to inspire Max! Have a great March!!

  25. Pingback: The Changing Seasons in the Park: February 2016 | Elizabatz Gallery

  26. Pingback: Changing Seasons… | gypsy life

    • Those pills will make you feel good, that’s for sure! 😀 Haha
      The birthday celebration was fantastic and memorable: 3 days of partying, plus visiting the tattoo convention in Budapest with my best friend. Good times for sure!

  27. Pingback: February looks like… | Patricia's Place

  28. Pingback: February – photography plus

  29. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: sweetcorn time | Zimmerbitch

  30. Pingback: February – Gong Xi Fa Cai | Lost in Translation

  31. Pingback: St Albans in February | Travel with Intent

  32. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2016: February | The Storyteller's Abode

  33. I am a bit late this month but I am still here! I love how you give yourself permission to stretch the boundaries and go so totally creative! Inspires me to go beyond the comfortable. Although this month I did not do that. Due to lots of things going on I opted for the “tried and true” nature photos. Finally posting. So, here is my February post. Enjoy.

    http://wp.me/pIeHU-1nq

    • Thanks Cecilia. I try to be creative, with more or less luck, but it’s nice to hear that you appreciate my efforts. 🙂 Looks like you had your fair share of snow in February! Luckily spring time is here soon.

  34. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2016: March | The Storyteller's Abode

  35. Pingback: February. The Changing Seasons Challenge. | Michelle Lunato Photography

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.