The Underwater World (Weekly Photo Challenge – Wonders)

At first I thought that this weeks Photo Challenge would be a tricky one, but as I sat down and started thinking about my options I realized that I had plenty to choose from. My immediate reaction was: “Hmmm, didn’t I go to a hospital and document some child births lately?”, but then I suddenly remembered that the security personnel on the hospital forced me to delete all those photos from my memory card as they threw me out of the hospital… 🙂  How rude! So, with those pictures eliminated, I had to dig deeper… Deep into the magic of the sea…

Seven Wonders of the Underwater World

I considered using this for the weekly photo challenge "hidden" a few weeks back.

I considered using this for the weekly photo challenge “hidden” a few weeks back.

I looked up the “Wonders of the World” & the “New7Wonders of Nature” on Wikipedia and then suddenly I had multiple options, including:
Taj Mahal (India), Haga Sofia (Turkey), The Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights), Old City of Jerusalem (Israel), Petra (Jordan) Table Mountain (National Park, South Africa), Dead Sea (Jordan, Israel) & the Great Pyramid of Giza (Egypt).
I have already posted photos of several of these (Taj Mahal, Old City of Jerusalem, Petra/Dead Sea), so in my interpretation of “wonders” I ended up on Seven Wonders of the Underwater World:

“The Seven Underwater Wonders of the World was a list drawn up by CEDAM International, an American-based non-profit group for divers, dedicated to ocean preservation and research. In 1989 CEDAM brought together a panel of marine scientists, including Dr. Eugenie Clark, to pick underwater areas which they considered to be worthy of protection. The results were announced at The National Aquarium in Washington DC by actor Lloyd Bridges, star of TV’s Sea Hunt.” (Wikipedia). These seven wonders are:

Palau
Belize Barrier Reef
Great Barrier Reef
Deep-Sea Vents
Galápagos Islands
Lake Baikal
Northern Red Sea

I’ve only had the chance to see one of these seven wonders of the underwater world, and that is the Northern Red Sea where these pictures are from. I strongly recommend it as it offers a magnificent chance to experience the magic and colorful life of the underwater world!

33 thoughts on “The Underwater World (Weekly Photo Challenge – Wonders)

  1. Beautiful shots! I completely agree with Frizz & the other two :), and then thank you for the pingback, too!

    • I would also love to go there, and to Palau, the Great Barrier Reef, Galápagos Islands, Lake Baikal, plus return to the Northern Red Sea!
      Not so sure about the Deep-Sea Vents though: there’s something about “water heated as high as 760°F (404°C) by magma from Earth’s interior billows from a seafloor chimney” that makes me think twice…

    • Thanks Gilly. Now I challenge you to post something on your blog (a picture for the weekly photo challenge can give a smooth start).

      EDIT: Actually I just realized that you have a blog, but that your username leads to an empty blog… Sorry about the confusion there.

  2. You’re so lucky to be able to take picture like all the above (underwater).

    I cant swim 😦

    Thanks for come up with such different post…underwater is a great wonder..

  3. Pingback: 3 Wonders: Weekly Photo Challenge (Wonder) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.