The Changing Seasons: January 2017

The Changing Seasons is here again. Like they say: “new year, new possibilities”, or perhaps you’re one of those people who don’t want to get out of your comfort zone? In that case: “New year, same, same”. Either way you’re welcome to join this challenge that will run throughout the year.

Havnelageret, Langkaia 1, Oslo.

Havnelageret, Langkaia 1, Oslo.

How you interpret “the changing seasons” is all up to you: a painting or perhaps a digital manipulation? One photo, a gallery with plenty of photos? Photos of the same place each month or different spots? A recipe (with an illustration photo that you’ve shot), your aging face, your declining health? Street, flash or portrait photography?
Be creative or don’t.

I had 304 photos that were all shot during 2-3 days in the beginning of January to choose from this month. I managed to narrow it down a little bit – not quite down to 20, but kind of close to that number. That’s why my Version 2 of the challenge this month is a street photo gallery, while my Version 1 is an ordinary gallery. Enjoy this more or less graceful gallery:

V1 Gallery:

   V2 Gallery:

Here’s a bonus photo:

If you want to join this challenge in 2017, you can find the full introduction to the challenge here: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2015/12/14/changing-seasons-introducing-2016/ and these are the basic rules:

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2017» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month.
Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2017.
It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed.
These are the rules (want the full introduction? Click Here), but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

    • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
    • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
    • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!
TheChangingSeasons_6367

You can download this photo and use it as a widget on your blog if you’d like to. If you look in my right menu, you’ll see that you can click the image and see all my posts that are related to this challenge.

If you’d like to see even more photos of Oslo shot in January, you can check out my “Changing Seasons 01 – 2017” album on Flickr: https://flic.kr/s/aHskPCFHxe

What else is new here in Oslo?

Next week my photo will be exhibited in a group exhibition at “Cyan :studio” in Oslo. My photo is one out of 72 photos (by other artists) and it’s possible for the visitors to vote for the photos at the exhibition.
If you’re in Oslo next week, go check out the exhibition, vote for the photo you think is the best (not necessarily mine) and get some cultural input.
Cyan :studio 
Jens Bjelkes gate 13A, 0562 Oslo, Norway
https://www.facebook.com/events/1626771367626975/
I Have Demons

I Have Demons

Welcome to old and new participants for «The Changing Seasons»

Links to participants:

77 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: January 2017

  1. Very fine galleries, Cardinal, especially all different captures of winter light and mood in the first one. I had a changing seasons lapse towards the end of last year. It will be good to start over. Sun promised here tomorrow so may be a chance of some new shots.

  2. Pingback: BRAVING THE ELEMENTS WITH GRACE | Lost in Translation

  3. Two galleries of beautiful photos that make me want to grab my passport and head north (waaay north for me). Or maybe I’ll just start working on my own Changing Seasons gallery to remind myself that NZ is pretty cool too.

    I so love the face chair in the shopping mall. Pity your security guards have the same attitude to photography as ours. 🙂

  4. so silly and lame they threw you out for taking shots with DSLR, but no problem if you take shots with a phone… pffff… same here…
    but all shots are a w e s o m e… !!! I think you should post them in smaller sets so each gets more attention, Viking 🙂

    • Yes, normally I do smaller sets, but this time I had so many photos. I don’t want to post them over several posts, because then all my posts look the same. Diversity is the key. 🙂

  5. Yay! New Year, New Changing Seasons. It looks like year 3 is off to a strong start with your inspired photos. The feature photo is stunning and I love the cheekbone moon in Frogner Park 🙂

    I got called out for taking photos in a mall once too. Maybe I shouldn’t have been a smart ass for taking a photo of the security guard as he was walking towards me 😉

  6. So much variety, C. From colour to BW to architecture to people to selfies to the moon and back. As Alex said, silly of security to throw you out with you camera. You could have offered them a free photoshoot 😎

  7. Pingback: Changing Seasons. January 2017 – Mick's Cogs

  8. Glorious galleries! I’ve put a couple together for tomorrow, but I want to go and shoot some stuff this afternoon. Maybe I’ll find something special I can use. It hasn’t been much of a month for photography.

    It looks like you don’t have snow on the ground, either. After our last snow, it got warm. And keeps getting warmer, which is not typical weather for January in New England. There’s no snow in the forecast, other than flurries or a bit of (maybe) freezing rain. Right now, it’s so warm you don’t need anything heavier than a sweatshirt. Yet we had snow earlier in the month. When the weather is like this, it’s impossible to know what the world will look like from one day to the next.

    I really love the work you do. it’s wonderful. You inspire me. Thank you!

  9. Pingback: Changing Seasons: January | Sounds like wish

  10. Thanks Cardinal for your idea of posting photos each month. I got here (this time) through the Graceful WP photo challenge but yours was more useful for me. Hope you like my changing seasons at the other end of the world.

  11. Pingback: New Year, Changing Seasons #3 | My Life Lived Full

  12. Pingback: Suburb-The Changing Seasons V2 (Jan 2017) | the beespeak

  13. Pingback: Changing Seasons ~ January To And From The Allotment – Tish Farrell

  14. Pingback: My view January 2017 – Patricia's Place

  15. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: January 2017 | A Day In The Life

  16. Always love your galleries, Cardinal. If I *had to pick a favorite, I’d pick tow 😉 Oslo’s night Opera and its ships. Gorgeous light resting on the waters…Love them both!

    Hope January has been kind to you and yours!

  17. Well you have most definitely been inspired this month! Glorious galleries Max. And HUGE congratulations on getting your stunning portrait exhibited with Cyan. Well deserved. I wish I could be there to vote for your work. My hope for you in 2017 is that you can monetize your art so that you never have to go back to work for ‘the man’ again. You are a talent and an inspiration.

  18. Pingback: The Changing Seasons, January 2017 | Zimmerbitch

  19. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: January 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

  20. 304 photos in January?! My, you’ve been busy. I loved your photos of the dock. Princeton is beautiful in the spring but I miss being near the ocean.

    I’m hoping to get outside more in February, but if the weather continues as it has, February in Princeton will look a lot like January. I do have a lighthouse trip planned for the last weekend end of February so maybe I’ll have more to share.

    Lovely shots.

    • Thank you Khürt. The 304 photos were shot during 2-3 days. I have even more photos that I shot later in January, but I can’t publish them all – it’ll be way too much. 🙂 It’s been a very active photo month for me, but it looks like January will be a slow month compared to
      February – which will be completely wild. In February I have a couple of tattoo conventions in foreign countries and cities which I’ve never visited on my schedule, so I can’t even estimate how many photos I’ll end up with! 🙂
      I have however, after many travels with my camera in hand, become more experienced and better at picking my scenes, so it’s not so much “this was interesting, that looks cool, oh lovely scene” like it used to be. The memory cards filled up quickly when my approach to photography was something like “anything & everything that looks somewhat nice”. Haha.

      A lighthouse trip sounds cool and definitely something worth sharing next month. Hopefully the light & shadows will be on your side!

  21. Two equally lovely galleries this month CG – you are spoiling us! I love the gold and blue tones of the first one, but you are an excellent B&W photographer too. And good luck with the image in the exhibition – I don’t know about demons, it is enough to give me nightmares! A quiet month for me, but I still managed to gather a few local shots for the end of the month. Take care and enjoy your exciting February, I am very intrigued as to where you are heading 🙂

    • The exhibition turned out to be kind of joke, but it was still interesting to be a part of it.
      February will be cool and it’s just around the corner now!

    • Here’s the photo that won the main price: the exhibition scholarship, awarded by a professional jury:

      “Astrid Gjersøe Skåtterød – Fv35 Hordaland”

      • Ok, interesting. I’m not sure where to start without sounding snarky. Obviously, the work you are doing is not what they were looking for. This also shows just how subjective art really is.

        • The winning photo has absolutely nothing of interest or quality. She didn’t even bother to straighten the horizon. It won because of the text she wrote to explain the photo. If a photo needs an elaborate explanation, it’s not strong enough to stand on its own.
          Whatever happened to a picture says more than a thousand words?

  22. Pingback: Looking Down on London – Travel with Intent

  23. Pingback: I’m leaving on a jet plane | Ladyleemanila

  24. This year, I am going to try harder! I hope to stick with your challenge through the year, Cardinal.
    Your galleries were wonderful and told me that I have to join in!
    Your colour Oslo gallery made me wish I was back there right now. And the b&w street photography gallery was fun and inspiring.

    I have just put up my London January, with the plan being to find new angles each month. https://travelwithintent.com/2017/01/31/looking-down-on-london-january/
    But I also want to share my lovely hometown, St Albans, so will be back with that later today I hope!

    Here’s to a good photography February!

  25. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: January – Under a Cornish Sky

  26. Pingback: January days | The life of a 40 something

  27. Pingback: St Albans in January – Travel with Intent

  28. What an amazing collection, I am in awe . . . so glad I found you just in time to submit an entry this month and thank you for adding me to the list

  29. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2017: January | The Storyteller's Abode

  30. Pingback: January at Mt Charleston – Photos by Emilio

  31. Pingback: Changing Seasons – February 2017 | Destination Unknown

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.