I don’t know if you’re familiar with the works of the photographer Robert Santafede. In July 2012 the activity on his website and all his other online profiles (Google+, twitter etc) came to a halt and since then he’s been silent. I’ve tried to contact him through email, his website, facebook and Google+ without any luck.

Robert Santafede - too dark park
Robert Santafede – «too dark park»

Robert and I were blogger friends: we used to visit each others blogs and comment on each others photos. One of the things that I loved about his photography was that he mastered the play between light and darkness and his photos had this kind of dark undertone to them.

I have no idea what has happened to Robert, suddenly he was quiet. Sometimes I wonder about it (and I know that I’m not the only one) – even though I just knew him through our blogs. Robert wasn’t very active in his blog over a long period of time, from December 2011 to July 2012, so it’s possible that he just grew tired of blogging and photographing – a lot of people do, and the majority of blogs never get older than a year or two before they start gathering dust in one of the many dark and forgotten corners of the internet.

But, I’m getting suspicious when all his accounts went silent around the same time and they’ve been quiet ever since… It’s weird how you feel connected to people who you really don’t know. I guess that “the new technology” (computers and internet aren’t really that new) does bring people closer in some ways – even the ones that we don’t know.

So, what happened to Robert? Did he die, did he gave up the internet, moved to a place without connection, got locked up in jail, had an accident and forgot all his passwords? A lot of things can happen in life and I don’t have the answer to these questions.
Robert, if you read this: I hope that you’re doing well.       

Here’s a gallery with some of Robert’s works. You can see more in the links below the gallery. All the photos in this post belongs to Robert Santafede (obviously).