Pictures from the historical Old City of Oslo

Today I got up early to shoot some photos in a neighbourhood in Oslo called Gamlebyen (meaning: the Old City).

Those of you that have followed this blog for a while might recognize the park with the lake in it? Yes, it’s the same place that I went ice skating last winter.
The water is a fake lake and it’s supposed to be a reconstruction of the Oslo Fjord shoreline as it appeared around 1300 CE. The water is filthy & polluted, so swimming is NOT recommended (but ice skating is!). The name of the park is Middelalderparken (the Medieval Park) and in this area, development is not allowed due to all the historical ruins. In the Medieval Park you’ll find the ruins of Church Clemens, Maria Church and the Royal Palace.


Or, like Google translate so elegantly put it: “In the Medieval Park are the ruins of the church Clemens, Maria church and the palace front in the day.”

The second park you see on these photos is one called Minneparken (The Memorial Park). According to Wikipedia this park is popularly known as the Ruin Park but this is not the full truth. The truth is that many of the residents in the neighbourhood use the more poetic name: Urine Park.

Disclaimer: The first three photos in this gallery was shot a few days earlier, but the rest of them are brand new.

In the Urine Park you can find the ruins of Hallvard’s Cathedral. Hallvard’s Cathedral, still according to Wikipedia, is also known as Halvard’s church, St. Hallvard’s Cathedral, St Hallvard Church, Oslo Cathedral and Oslo Cathedral Church, and it was Oslo’s earliest cathedral. The cathedral was built at the height of the Old Town market square (were the streets Bispegata & Oslo Gate cross) during the early 1100s, and was used as a church until about 1655. Besides being the bishop’s seat and religious center of eastern Norway about 500 years, the cathedral was the coronation church, royal wedding church, royal chapel, and one of Scandinavia’s most visited places of pilgrimage.

The yellow building on some of the photos is Oslo’s bishopric / Oslo episcopal residence: Located in the historic district of Old Town in Oslo, surrounded by ruins from the time when this was the city center. Dating back to 1100’s, Oslo bishops stayed in this area. The current bishop’s house is built on the remains of St. Olav’s Monastery, a dominican monastery which probably was founded in 1239.

22 thoughts on “Pictures from the historical Old City of Oslo

    • Hi Veeh.
      I’m not sure about this, but I believe that they might be remnants from the old tram line called Oslolinjen (the Oslo Line). This was the last line of the capital’s trams that were served by horse trams. On the 22th of January 1900, the last tram was pulled by horses. Today the trams are electric and the route through Gamlebyen runs in a street nearby called Oslo Gate.

  1. It’s so nice to get up and out early in the morning and shoot some photos. You certainly got some beauties there! Me, never having been to Oslo, it was interesting to see these parks.

    On my tombstone I just want the text «Now I know!» 😀

    • It is. I love the mornings (for some reason that last sentence reminded me of a quote from the movie Apocalypse Now: “I love the smell of napalm in the morning.”) Great movie!

      Anyway: there are lots of parks & green areas in Oslo. I’ll probably post more about some of them later on.

  2. Ahh very lovely pictures!!! It seems you some how got knocked off my reader list 😦 not sure how that happened because I did not do it – but something funky has been happening with WP’s reader list for me lately because I have another person who is showing up as being on my list but none of her posts show up in the reader but if I go to her blog she has new posts up so I don’t know! I was very surprised that you weren’t making any posts and here it turns up you were and WP had just booted you off my list for some reason – so I have replaced you and I am now catching up 🙂

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.