Ålesund Mosaics

Mosaic Panoramic View of Ålesund City Center

As I was post-processing my photos from our trip to Ålesund, I wanted to experiment and made this mosaic panoramic view of Ålesund City Center. I combined 10 different photos that were shot with different settings at different times – some day shots, some night shots. They were all shot from the same balcony, but the camera wasn’t in a fixed position.

Aalesund-mosaics

Ålesund Mosaics (click to see large version)

If one wants a perfect result on a mosaic like this, it takes some planning before shooting: the camera should be on a tripod, you should use a number of fixed positions (for example 3 steps to get a panorama), the ISO should be the same on all shots and also the focal length. Since I didn’t plan this at all, but just wanted to experiment and have fun with the photos that I had available, I can reveal to you that if you’re looking for perfection in this mosaic, you’ll find a lot of errors like parts that are skewed, repeating tiles, weird geometry etc, etc. These are the settings for the different shots: 

  • 5,0 sec at f/22, ISO100 / 24mm
  • 1/30 sec at f/16, ISO 200 / 24mm
  • 1/25 sec at f/16, ISO200 / 47mm
  • 1/40 sec at f16, ISO200 /24mm
  • 30,0 sec at f/11, ISO100 / 24mm
  • 1/10 sec at f/11, ISO100 / 45mm
  • 0,4 sec at f/22, ISO100 / 99mm
  • 1/6 sec at f/22, ISO100 / 80mm
  • 1/13 sec at f/14, ISO400 / 24mm
  • 0,3 sec at f/22, ISO100 / 24mm

Here’s a gallery with some other Ålesund photos: Panoramic, HDR and Panoramic HDR.

This was my entry for WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Dialogue.

26 thoughts on “Ålesund Mosaics

  1. You know of course that these are the most impressive photographs I have seen tonight. I wish I could have seen them zoomed in, the amount of details, the sharpness is incredible. Did you use your tripod for all of them?

    • It was a bit difficult, because I hadn’t planned anything. I just got the idea afterwards as I was working on the shots. I guess that with some planning, the post-processing would have been much easier.

  2. Stunning. Stunning. Stunning. Very creative of you, Cardinal. My hat’s off to you. The mosaic one left me speechless and unmoving for a moment. Thanks for sharing how you did it. One day when I learn how to use my Fuji compact I hope to attempt something like that. I suppose you spent a bit of time post-processing to get the panoramas to turn out like that, and to make the colours that vivid.

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.