Working with a model & a dog

Had a couple of photos on print today: they were in a pet-related advertising paper that was published with the national, Norwegian newspaper Dagbladet.

Last Sunday I met up with model Thea and her dog Kilo for a photo shoot downtown. Here’s the main photo:

Thea & Kilo

Thea & Kilo. Kilo is a mix between American Bulldog, Rottweiler, Staffordshire Bull Terrier and Sighthound.

To flash or not to flash?
I haven’t worked with dogs as models before, so this was the first time for me. Before leaving home I was afraid that a flash might scare the young dog – he’s only one year old – so I didn’t bring one. I could have needed a flash in the semi-poor lighting conditions downtown. I did bring a reflector though, but the artificial light wasn’t really strong enough to be reflected. Lesson learned? bring a flash next time.

Besides, Thea, the model and dog owner, assured me that Kilo wouldn’t be scared of the flash. Because of his young age Kilo was easily distracted and a flash would have helped to freeze the moment, eliminating blur.
I definitely learned a lot from this shoot.

Thea & Kilo

Thea & Kilo

Thanks Thea & Kilo!

21 thoughts on “Working with a model & a dog

  1. Some dogs really dislike flash. They aren’t afraid, but they won’t like it and they will remember it. They can hear the whine of it, too as it recycles and the result are not great pictures. Fast lenses and natural light or good studio lights … but flash? Not for dogs or cats. You may get a good pictures, but you won’t get two 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip Marilyn. I guess a film light would be the best option if you need extra light then (the type that lights all the time instead of flashing). I’ve used it once in a photo shoot outside when it was dark and it worked well.

  2. Congratulations on getting featured, Cardinal. Wonderful. Kilo looks very obedient and seems to be just a regular dog in your presence 🙂 I am sure it was a rather spontaneous photo shoot, with all the movement but that probably made it fun. Many more features to come, I wouldn’t be surprised at that 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Changing Seasons Recap 2015 | Cardinal Guzman

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.