Hope (Weekly Photo Challenge)

Another weekly photo challenge at WordPress. Here’s two old photos from my back catalogue that suits the theme this week:The legend says that this is the home of The Flying Dutchman.

The legend says that this is the home of The Flying Dutchman.

Do you know where these photos are taken? Here’s a hint:
“The legend of the Flying Dutchman concerns a ghost ship that can never make port, doomed to sail the oceans forever. It probably originates from 17th century nautical folklore. The oldest extant version dates to the late 18th century.

Sightings in the 19th and 20th centuries reported the ship to be glowing with ghostly light. If hailed by another ship the crew of the Flying Dutchman will try to send messages to land, or to people long dead. In ocean lore, the sight of this phantom ship is a portent of doom.” Wiki

More logos here: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2012/01/07/weekly-photo-challenge-2012-logo/

47 thoughts on “Hope (Weekly Photo Challenge)

  1. unique post. the flying Dutchman – from somewhere in the Netherlands I would guess, although the distance markers don’t match up. will have to do some research 🙂

  2. Thanks for the answer Gilly….saved me some time. I’ve heard this folklore, but didn’t know location.
    Creative idea for the weekly challenge CG.

  3. It’s interesting you should mention this. I just finished a biography of Joni Eareckson Tada called, “The God I Love.” When she was small, before she became a quadriplegic from a diving accident, her father used to tell the story of the Flying Dutchman as they were seated around a campfire on the ocean’s beach. I had heard the name before but never knew what it was about until reading it. And now you’ve confirmed every point.

    Feel free to visit me at f-stop fantasy and see my version of Hope at:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope For The Birds… | Mirth and Motivation

  5. Cardinal Guzman…

    Thanks for stopping by & leaving a comment recently (2/5) on the weekly photo challenge: “Simple.” Hmm, it has just been a few weeks since I began my first photography blog. Lots to learn, but fun doing it.

    Love that you toss in some food recipes on your blog! If it wasn’t a photography blog I started, the next choice would be food (-: Love to cook.

    Will check back often.

    ~ Best ~

    • Thanks Rick. I like your blog. Keep those posts coming, you’re doing a great job!

      I write a little bit about what ever is on my mind: food, travel, photography, art, music… I can’t stick to one theme, it’s not my style.

      Probably my next posts will be about travel / photo.
      Stay tuned 😉

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.