Thai-style Oxtail Soup

Rub the tiger balls for good luck

Rub the tiger balls for good luck

I had a visitor from Australia this weekend, which not only meant that I had to be a good tour guide and show him the city where I live, but also (as any responsible host would have done) that I had to feed the bastard… (I’m just kidding of course: he was great guest, and he wasn’t born out-of-wedlock, which means that he couldn’t have been a bastard).
So, after being this hectic weekend, are you ready for the recipe?

I’ve made this soup several times before with a recipe that I’ve stolen from our friend the internet. It’s an easy soup to make, but it’s a bit time-consuming to boil the ox tails. I’ll share the recipe with all of you readers and especially with SMCWrites (because I happen to know that she loves cooking).

Picking the meat off the bones

Picking the meat off the bones

You’ll need:

  • 1 kg (kilo) oxtail (Come on! Use the metric system folks!).
  • 2 tablespoons oil ( I use peanut oil)
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 5 cloves chopped garlic
  • 3 red chili with (or without if you prefer it less spicy) seeds, minced
  • 1 piece lemon (juice only)
  • 1 lime (juice only)
  • 1 ½ tablespoons sugar (white or brown, it doesn’t really matter. I use brown).
  • 1 crushed lemongrass
  • 1 can of chopped canned tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 ½ liter beef stock (diluted) or broth
  • 20 g fresh ginger, cut julienne (thin strips)
  • 1 x green zucchini, cut into strips
  • 1 pc red bell pepper into strips (red bell pepper, red paprika, capsicum…)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
Oxtail soup

Oxtail soup

What to do?!?!?

  1. Heat the oil in a frying pan, brown the oxtails. Take them out of the pot.
  2. Sauté (a fancy word for frying lightly!) onion, garlic and chilli in oil. Don’t let them go all brown. Add lemon grass, lime and lemon juice and sugar, mix well. Add the chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, lime leaves and broth / stock.
  3. Add the oxtails into the pan and let it all simmer for approx. 3 hours, until meat is tender and separates from the legs.
  4. Remove the bones out of the stock power, cool them down a little and set the pot aside. (Chill the oxtails on a plate in a cold window, or just on a plate – they’ll have to be cold enough so that you can handle them with your fingers.
    Pick the meat from the bones.
  5. Remove lime leaves / lemon grass from the pot.
  6. Put the meat back into soup and add the peppers, zucchini and galangal / ginger (personally I prefer using ginger, because I’m not a big fan of galangal).
    Let the soup simmer for another 15-20 minutes.
  7. Just before serving, add 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (fresh coriander).

If the soup is too spicy, this obviously means that you’re a wuzz. If that’s the case: add some coconut milk to murder the spiciness.

(P.S: Oxtails are also great for cooking beef stock!)

EDIT: Apropos metric-system. Here’s an illustration:

18 thoughts on “Thai-style Oxtail Soup

    • Once, when I had visitors, I made up this story that rubbing the tiger balls will bring good luck. I still tell my guests this story, and who knows?!
      If a Horseshoe, knock on wood, charm bracelet, feathers, rabbits foot, jade buddha, or a lucky coin can bring you luck, then you might as well add rubbing tiger balls to the list 🙂

      And besides, I think everyone should rub some balls from time to time. If you can’t find a tiger: improvise!

  1. I like this and I’ve come across this dish before, but have not made it. Not too complicated and hearty soup. Time? A good meal is an investment in time if you truely want to please and WOW your table guest.

  2. Fahrenheit totally confuses me, we use Celsius in Canada but there is the odd person who will still try to use Fahrenheit and I will just look at them like “what are you talking about, that makes no sense?!”

    Anyways!!! That looks delicious – definitely worth a try!

    • Yeah, the arbitrary retarded rollercoaster of fahrenheit is not built on logic and that’s why it’s difficult to understand.
      I still haven’t tried your goulash soup, but I’ll give it go when/if I remember 🙂

  3. Your pictures make it look delicious. I am not sure about that picking meat off the bones part – seems like a lot of work …

Share your opinion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.