The Changing Seasons Recap 2016

One of the few rules for «The Changing Seasons» is “Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.” Well, I’m breaking that rule, but since this is a recap it makes sense…

Those of you that have followed me through 2016 (thanks for following!), have seen these shots already, but I think it’s appropriate to post a recap of 2016 before I start my Changing Seasons 2017 posts in the end of this month.

Vannspeilet, Gamlebyen.

Vannspeilet, Gamlebyen.

This challenge will continue to run in 2017 and you’re all welcome to join.

Version 1 Gallery with one photo from each month:

Some of the minor and major events that took place last year:

Franklin D. Roosevelt lost his nose…

Construction is still happening:

The view from Ekeberg was good in 2016: 

Version 2 Gallery

In June & November I didn’t post anything for V2 and in March & December I posted the YouTube clips you see after this gallery. While my gallery for January, February, April, May, July, August, September & October looks like this:

 

March – YouTube clip:

If you want to join this challenge in 2017, you can find the full introduction to the challenge here: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2015/12/14/changing-seasons-introducing-2016/ and these are the basic rules:

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2017» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month.
Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2017.
It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed.
These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

    • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
    • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
    • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!
TheChangingSeasons_6367

You can download this photo and use it as a widget on your blog if you’d like to. If you look in my right menu, you’ll see that you can click the image and see all my posts that are related to this challenge.

In 2016 the participants in this challenge posted 276 posts. That’s an average of 23 per month (24 if you include mine).

Trivia: both in 2015 and 2016 around 60% of the participants dropped out during the year and 40% finished the challenge. It’s not a competition, so it doesn’t matter if you didn’t make it all the way or if you skipped some months. The challenge is all about pushing yourself, learning more about photography and your camera. Nice side effects can be: building a portfolio and hopefully also feeding your creativity.

Special thanks to all the participants in 2016!

Here are some of your lovely entries in alphabetical order (one blog was deleted and is not on the list):

December: – YouTube clip:

47 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons Recap 2016

  1. This must have taken some time to put together! Lovely to see some of your images again. I look forward to joining in again this year, though maybe once I have completed a full year in my new home (April) I might think about v2 in some creative way 😀
    Have a great 2017 CG – hope it is full of travels!

    • It took a while, especially going through all the entries and choose which posts to link to – that took several hours.
      It’ll be interesting to see what you come up with for V2!

  2. Best ofs are the best, in this case definitely. Not only are your photos getting just better and better, but it’s always so nice to rediscover some awesome archive material, like the sofa video, which I laughed at heartily once again 😀

    • Hehe, I laughed at that video today too and my son wanted to see it several times. Thanks for the compliments Mara and I hope you’ll continue the challenge in 2017. I’ve loved your posts, especially the gritty, industrial, East bloc shots. 😀

      • I also hope I’ll continue your challenge, which is all kinds of awesome, but currently the temperatures have dropped here to -15° C, which is extremely low for this part of the world and I might starve to death because I don’t dare go out to get my groceries 😮 I don’t know how you Scandinavian people survive the cold. Besides wearing skull balaclavas.

    • I just remembered your dumporamas too! I think we’ve both forgotten to shoot dumporamas for a while! (I’ll keep it in mind the next time I’m on a photo walk).

  3. Thanks for the roundup. Photographically, it was a highly creative year. From going to look at everyone’s posts … including some I obviously missed … it was a great creative year for all of us. Photography and writing are my defense against the insanity of this world. More art, less politics!

    • “More art, less politics!”, I couldn’t agree more. I can deal with the insanity of this world, but unfortunately I haven’t found any defense against the insanity of my own head. 😀 Haha.

  4. Happy New Year, Cardinal.

    I didn’t finish the challenge last year. No excuse. (Well, my long time companion, my dog, passed away, but…)

    This year I hope to make it to the end. I accept your challenge!

  5. What a great round up, Cardinal G. It’s good to see many of those shots again. And many thanks for the ping thing. Happy New Year to you and yours.

  6. Glorious recap! Best wishes into the new year:) Your country is so beautiful. Ironically, we were watching a movie, the Wave, the other day and remarking how stunning the country was. Then I realized, I had already thought that from your blog:)

  7. Thanks for hosting this year Max. This is such a fun and interesting challenge.
    I’ve really enjoyed all of your images – especially because they are so different to my part of the world.
    Looking forward to the next year!

  8. Very colourful city, but looks like endless construction going on all year round. Hope it isn’t too noisy but if not, put up with it 😂

  9. Wow! What a delightful recap! It was great to see these gorgeous images again. It was really hard to narrow down my favorites here but I’ll name a few: The Bikes of Bjørvika, The Aker Brygge Panorama, War at the Opera, The Royal Palace, Hovedøya Seen From Ekeberg, View of Oslo from Ekenberg, Mai i Oslo 2016, The Nude Model Monkey Skull, The Cardinal Guzman Album and the arm in the Name Nannya photo. Thank you so much for hosting this challenge and for expanding the rules in 2016 so that those of us with ever changing backyards could participate. Love you man!

  10. The views over Oslo and over the construction sites at night are amazing! Nice recap!
    I hope 2017 will bring you lots of inspiration to keep on taking great pictures 😉

  11. Amazing images. My favorites are the bikes in Bjørvika, Aker Brygge panorama, and On the bicycle path towards Lysaker.

    I followed along during 2016 but did not participate. I’ll do my best for 2017.

  12. Pingback: St Albans over the year – Travel with Intent

  13. Hi Cardinal, Fantastic round-up of images from your year. This was a lot of work! (It took me ages to post 15 🙂 I love War, Oslo Opera House and your urban landscapes in general are luminous. Wishing you a creative and wonderful 2017!

  14. Wow…some amazing shots in this collection. Okay, life got crazy last year and I didn’t finish the challenge but I’m going to give it another shot this year. 😀

  15. Thanks for including me in this list. 2016 proved to be a pretty rough year for me but I hope to return to the blog and to the challenge. Best to everyone here, and hoping for a phenomenal 2017.

Share your opinion

