The Changing Seasons: December 2016

Here we are: the last Changing Seasons post this year. As you probably know, I’ve decided to run this challenge in 2017 as well, which means that you have 12 more months to go out there and shoot. This will be the third year running this challenge and the rules for 2017 will be the same as in 2016. Those of you who aren’t familiar with this challenge already, can read the introduction to 2016 if you like, but the rules are always listed at the end of my posts.

December night in Oslo

December night in Oslo

 

Trivia: both in 2015 and 2016 around 60% of the participants dropped out during the year and 40% finished the challenge. It’s not a competition, so it doesn’t matter if you didn’t make it all the way or if you skipped some months. The challenge is all about pushing yourself. Here’s what I pushed myself to during the last month:

Of course, since this is the last post of my challenge this year, I had to make something special for my Version 2.

I’ve shot the photos during the course of 2016, but I started late, so it’s not the full year. The music is my good friend André and myself that’s playing an acoustic guitar version of Tim Timebomb’s song «Olympia».

If you want to join this challenge in 2017, you can find the full introduction to the challenge here: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2015/12/14/changing-seasons-introducing-2016/ and these are the basic rules:

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2017» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month.
Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2017.
It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed.
These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

    • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
    • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
    • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!
TheChangingSeasons_6367

You can download this photo and use it as a widget on your blog if you’d like to. If you look in my right menu, you’ll see that you can click the image and see all my posts that are related to this challenge.

Links to participants:

76 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: December 2016

  1. This is my favourite Changing Seasons post that you’ve done so far.

    I loved the video and the morphing tree over the year. I loved the foggy photos – fog always provides such a moody backdrop and it’s something I don’t see very often where I live.
    … and the Barcode building … these shots were from an angle I’ve not seen before. I loved the night and day photos taken of both the Barcode and the construction site. Same settings, totally different atmosphere.
    You’ve provided a lot of inspiration 🙂

    Again, thanks for hosting this photo challenge. It challenges us to see our world differently as it changes around us. I, for one, am glad you’ll be back hosting it again in 2017.
    Merry Christmas and best wishes that the new year is generous and kind to you and “little Max”.

    • Thanks for the kind words Joanne. I posted these photos on Facebook last night and I hoped you wouldn’t see them there before this post was published! Luckily you saw them here first! 🙂
      The Barcode there is just one of the buildings in that stretch. I’m planning to do some more close-ups and different angles in that area. Actually I already did some this month, but they were rejected from this post (I’ll post them in a separate “rejected changing seasons December” post in my artishorseshit blog).
      I’m looking forward to host this challenge again in 2017. Hopefully many people will join and make it through the whole year. I’m not yet sure how I will solve the challenge, but probably the same like I’ve been doing this year: a gallery for version 1, plus a manipulation or something similar for version 2.

  2. Hello. If I understand version two of the challenge correctly, as long as I post one NEW interpretive photo per month along with the hashtags #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons, I can consider myself a participant in the challenge?

    • Yes, that’s correct. You’re welcome to join us, already from this month if you like. The other participants usually post their contributions between the 20th and the last of the month.

    • If you want to make sure that I discover the post, it’s always a good idea to leave a link to one of my specific posts in your post. Alternatively drop by here and leave a link to your post (or you can do both). Sometimes I forget to check the #changingseasons hashtag in the WordPress reader.

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Dullness | My Life Lived Full

  4. I tried to comment on a couple of individual photos, but my laptop wan’t having any! 😦 I particularly like the first in your gallery and the first time on the ice appeals too. 🙂 Wishing you a wonderful Christmas with the little one, Cardinal, and a successful and happy 2017.

  5. First of all, thanks for hosting the challenge. I really enjoy the way it makes me reflect on each month in my life and try to capture that in an image/images. Secondly; your shots this month are stunning. I’ve looked through them a couple of times thinking I’d find one or two to comment specifically on, but nah, I love them all. I’m looking forward to being part of this again in 2017 — so thanks again. Ngā mihi o te Kirihimete me te Tau Hou — Season’s greetings for Christmas and the New Year. Su.

    • Thank you Su and it was great to get some seasonal greetings on Maori. I copied it and sent it to my Maori tattoo artist friend on Facebook. 😀
      It’s cool that you will participate in 2017 too!

  6. You did a brilliant job with this boring month. You made it look yummy 🙂 I love your views in the video; also the night photos are particularly great ❤

  7. Striking shots! A construction site portrayed at night and a cherry picker in the fog; my favourites! Upcoming harsh winter in Norway I guess.

  8. Pingback: December-The Changing Seasons- V2 | the beespeak

  9. Greetings! I liked your photo choices, especially the first black and white shot, the ekeberg park shot with the light on the water, and ( of course) your creative self portrait! Wonderful! It’s always cool to see your part of the world, and I am glad you will keep hosting the challenge in 2017. I hope you have plans for holiday fun. (By the way, I saw your fun Feliz Navidad video 😀.) Merry Christmas! Here is my V2 December post:
    https://thebeespeak.wordpress.com/2016/12/20/december-the-changing-seasons-v2/

  10. fabulous eclectic collection… the photos with the pram on the ice are awesome… and I love the long shadows of winter (barcode photo)…
    how long before you finish the sleeve? looks great…

    • I guess that after one more visit (maybe two, but most likely one) to my tattoo artist, the sleeve is done. After that I probably won’t get any more tattoos done in Norway. Godt nyttår Alexandra!

  11. I look forward to this challenge. It get me and the camera out into the world. A prod can be a very positive thing. I loved your slide show so much I included one of my own … which was supposed to be just one image from each month, but I seem to be incapable of choosing one image from many, so there are few more. But only 11 months since, after all, December is featured.

    Thank you so much for hosting (and creating) this wonderful monthly challenge. Yes, it is just one a month, but it’s a lot more work than people realize.

    Because of you, I’ve begun to experiment, try being less of a realist and more of an artist. It has been educational and fun. I’m so glad you are hosting this for another year! I look forward to it and plan for it.

    • Realism sucks. It’s good to hear that I can bring out the artist in you and it’ll be fun to see what you’ll come up with in 2017, and yes: it is a lot more work than people realize. That’s why so many people start the challenge in January, but they’re gone by December.

  12. Oslo looks pretty colourful, more so than last year 😊 I’ve enjoyed following along. Photography crisp as usual, and always nice go see what antics you’re getting up to. 😂

      • Lol, C. I really am feeling lazy with my camera. And I really don’t think take that many shots of Melbourne. But we will see… 😀 Happy New Year to you and I am looking forward to following you around this year again 😀

  13. as Mara Eastern says: you did a great job with this boring month. now I feel a bit ashamed 🙂 cause I tried and tried to shoot some photos this month and just wasn’t inspired AT ALL and so far have nothing. last year I did all 12 months with ease, this year I missed November because of my absence and potentially December because of my blah mood, BUT looking forward to 2017 (already have an idea of another different approach).

  14. Pingback: CHANGE OF SCENERY | Lost in Translation

  15. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: December | A Day In The Life

  16. Great post. I love the rain reflection shots. And the midevil party looks like a good time. Fun idea. The music at the end was a nice touch too:) Best wishes to you and yours Cardinal and have a great and safe New Year:) (My submission will post on the 30th.)

  17. Pingback: December day… – Patricia's Place

  18. Pingback: Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – December 2016 – Photos by Emilio

  19. Well, Max, you’ve exceeded my expectations this month. I’ve enjoyed seeing your city throughout the year but this batch for December have got to be the best you’ve ever come up with. And that wasn’t easy to do because each month it seems I’m blown away by the quality of your images. The foggy shots this month are my all time favorites but Thumbs Up really captured my attention. It looks like something you would have designed yourself.

  20. Pingback: Calendar Year 2016- The Changing Seasons V2 in Review | the beespeak

  21. Pingback: Changing Seasons in the Park: December 2016 | Elizabatz Gallery

  22. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2016: December | The Storyteller's Abode

  23. G’day Cardinal. I’m going to give your changing seasons thing a go this year. While the temperature changes in southern Australia, the appearance doesn’t, not that much anyway. I may just make it a travelogue-y sort of thing. I came here from Joanne, a enthusiastic supporter of your endeavours, as you know. Happy New Year. Michael

  24. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2017: January | BOOKING IT

    • You’re an early bird, but that’s fine. 🙂 My first post this year is scheduled to post on the 20th. I’ve left a link to your post there, so you’ll get a pingback.
      Have a great Sunday!

  25. Sorry that i was woefully late with my December post. A mixture of location (currently moored in a marina surrounded by shopping malls), dreaded holidays (Bah Humbug), job hunting (mine), and surgery (The Captain’s double hernia) kept me from finding inspiration until we reached Penang at month end. Then I was so busy getting inspired that it took me awhile to post.

    Hope all is well on your end. Particularly drawn to the excellent black and white images in this post as well as the Medieval Christmas Party. Loved the music videos as well.

      • 😘 Thanks Max! More good news on The Captain front. He just got the results of his PET scan back and it was cancer free. Yay. On the job front, I used to run global projects and as a result, seem to have a friend or two in every region that I visit. From those few friendships, I develop a network of contacts..not that it has landed me a job so far, but at least I have gotten to meet up with old friends and make some new ones. I still have a few ‘irons in the fire’ here so I may just find a role yet.

  26. Pingback: Penang

Share your opinion

