The Changing Seasons: August 2016

Summer vacation is over and it was freaking awesome!

Now I’m back at work and haven’t had the time to process all of the photos from this summer yet but, as you can see from my previous post, I’ve posted the ones from the Titanic International Tattoo Convention in Belfast. Still I have a bunch from the North of Norway, plus another bunch from a trip I arranged to the famous Norwegian places: Preikestolen, Kjeragbolten and Trolltunga, to process. This was the first time that I arranged such a trip, so you can say it was pretty rare. Blah, blah, blah, here’s this month’s «The Changing Seasons»:

 

V2: My Version 2 this month is (of course) tattoo related.

The name hannya (般若) is a Sino-Japanese word for prajna or wisdom.

The name hannya (般若) is a Sino-Japanese word for prajna or wisdom.

 

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2016» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month. Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2016. It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed. These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
  • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

Links to participants:

Also make sure to out my spreadshirt shop:

kvinner-spreadshirt-1123203

Norwegian shop (NOK):
https://shop.spreadshirt.no/1123203/

English (EURO):

http://shop.spreadshirt.no/100035802

TheChangingSeasons_6367

53 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: August 2016

  1. I’m glad you had a fabulous vacation. I’ve been following along with you. Ours got cancelled, not once but a least three times because someone got sick and for once, it wasn’t always me. Still, the seasons keep moving, and now that you are back, time for me to put my post together. Thanks for hosting and I’m looking forward to the rest of the photographs.

  2. Since I was in Oslo last year at this time, I guess it’s not surprising that I can look at your August photos and have them bring back the memories of my vacation there, in particular Karl Johans Gate.
    In fact, your photos from last year of this street was what motivated me to want to visit Oslo in the first place. I wasn’t disappointed 🙂

  3. Such a lovely summer that you had, C. Oooh, that guy carrying out the BBQ – the meat (?) and cheese (?) in top. That looks delicious. Guessing you are looking forward to after work each day as you get to look back at the photos and play around with them 😉

  4. Aker Brygge at sunset panoramic shot is beautiful. The food, the company and the colourful truck look as fun too. I’m glad you are taking the path of wisdom. Mine will be courage 😀

    • There’s more to it than wisdom Paula. Like female, jealous demons. 😀 hehe

      More from Wikipedia:
      The name hannya (般若) is a Sino-Japanese word for prajna or wisdom. One tradition states that this name was given to this mask because it was the name of an artist monk Hannya-bō (般若坊) who is said to have perfected its creation. Another explanation is that Perfection of Wisdom sutras and their variations were considered to be particularly effective against female demons.[citation needed] An alternate explanation is that the artist would need a great deal of wisdom in order to create this mask.

      Characteristics
      The Hannya mask is used in many noh and kyōgen Japanese plays, as well as in Shinto ritual kagura dances.[5] The Hannya mask portrays the souls of women who have become demons due to obsession or jealousy.

  5. Pingback: In Like a Lamb, Out Like a Lion | Lost in Translation

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons: August Summer Glory | My Life Lived Full

  7. Cardinal, I love those Tats. The vacation pictures make one envious.
    I especially like the twilight harbor view photograph. We could cue up The Platters singing their classic oldie, “Harbor Lights”.

    • Thank you Garry. The ink is a work in progress – I’ll post more photos when it’s all done, but before that I’ll start a new tattoo project on my leg.
      The Oslo photos aren’t from my vacation, these are the views that I see daily. 😀

  8. Pingback: August on my block… – Patricia's Place

  9. I am delighted to hear that your summer ended so well. Love the pics…especially the boats, the sunsets, and the cool tattoo at the end. Very unusual. I will be posting for August but there is a slight chance it might not post until beginning of September due to limited internet and so much (awesome) traveling that my head is going to explode. Will do my best to get the post in before the end of the month. Hug!

  10. Pingback: August’s Changing Seasons: Fruitful – Tish Farrell

  11. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: August 2016 | Zimmerbitch

  12. What a gorgeous summer you have had CG and as always you have the photos to inspire us all. My post is a WIP but will be up at the end of the month. Hope it is not TOO hard being back at work 🙂

  13. Pingback: August-The Changing Seasons V2 | the beespeak

  14. Pingback: Changing Seasons in the Park: August 2016 | Elizabatz Gallery

  15. Pingback: August Part I: West Timor

  16. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2016: August | The Storyteller's Abode

  17. Pingback: August Part II: Alor to Komodo National Park

Share your opinion

