The Changing Seasons: April 2016

“The Changing Seasons” is a little bit late this month. I messed up the dates, got busy writing on a long post and suddenly the 20th of April had passed already… Oops!

I had to hurry up and get this post ready this morning and here is the gallery for April:

I’ve been playing a lot of guitar this month. Both alone and with other people. There was a jam-session with some couchsurfers earlier this month (you can check it out in one of my previous posts) and I’ve been jamming with an ukulele playing friend of mine. That’s why this guitar is my V2 photo this month.

One of my guitars.

One of my guitars.

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2016» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month. Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2016. It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed. These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
  • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

Links to participants: 

Also make sure to out my spreadshirt shop:

kvinner-spreadshirt-1123203

Norwegian shop (NOK):
https://shop.spreadshirt.no/1123203/

English (EURO):

http://shop.spreadshirt.no/100035802

95 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons: April 2016

  1. Totally worth the wait. So many visual delights in that gallery I don’t even know where to start. I adore your work. And that child of yours gets cuter every day. Love seeing him sporting a T from the shop! Very cute. Would enjoy seeing a video of you playing that gorgeous guitar. Enjoyed you on that keyboard like air horn thing you were playing in the couch surfing video.

  2. “A little bit late…” I still haven’t processed my photos from March yet! Hopefully I’ll get March and April up before the end of the month. Love these pics. Now to see what you posted in March…

  3. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself a lot this month, and your guitar is getting quite a bit of a workout. That fretboard looks fresh compared to mine, which looks dull and unloved 😀 It also looks like the weather is starting to warm up with nicer skies 😀

    • The guitar is getting quite a work out, that’s true. A big jam-session last weekend and a small one on both Friday and Saturday this weekend. It’s so much fun to play with others.

  4. Oh Cardinal … you never fail to impress! Loved the photo, entitled, Good Morning, Oslo! I seem to have a thing for cityscapes.

    Tomorrow, I’ll look in to making my own gallery … when the rain has stopped.

  5. It looks like your spring is off to a wet and soggy start … but the bluebells!! I loved all the photos with bluebells 🙂 Maybe I’m just so starved for colour by this time of year 🙂

    … and yes, Little Max is a wonderful photo subject. I assume that’s him “climbing Kili” in the first photo. It’s a great reminder that challenges are relative 🙂

    • You’re right Joanne: that’s little Max climbing the Kilimanjaro there. He struggled a bit and wanted me to help him, but his request was denied and he had to figure it out for himself. Several times he slipped and ended up at the bottom, but he didn’t give up and had fun riding down.

          • What an ugly name for such a pretty plant .. “squill”. It sounds like it should be some creepy swamp monster.

            … but a field full of them in bloom must be a sight to see 🙂

          • Squill is an ugly name, but Russeblåstjerne sounds nice. I’m planning to ‘steal’ some from the local park (you just dig up some of them and re-plant them. They spread quickly), and plant them in the backyard. That way we’ll have Russeblåstjerner (translated: Russian Blue Stars) in our backyard next spring.

          • You see? Blue Stars is a MUCH prettier name! I think that’s how I’ll choose to call them 🙂

            … and I think it’s a great idea to transplant some. Something to look forward to for next spring.

  6. Is that changing seasons already? I forget every. single. time. I got to move my ass and take my camera for a walk.

    I’m very happy with your representation of what’s for me a problematic month – I’ve grown fed up with all those bright sprightly colours and flowers and I don’t feel like shooting classic spring photos. Which you didn’t do either. Your take is wonderfully grungy. I love especially the railway shots and the graffitied shots of what looks like a skateboard area.

    Also, welcome to the gang of the Rowling theme users 😉 The theme suits you well.

    • Classic spring photos aren’t my thing either. You and me are all about that grungy look. 🙂
      I like this new theme and currently have it on both my blogs. The only thing I don’t like is that a comment reply comes directly underneath the comment, instead of slightly pushed to the side like it does in most themes. It’s just a minor detail though.

  7. I’m in love with the bluebell shots! 🙂 I joined a friend and her dog in some bluebell woods this morning. Not quite in full glow yet, but lovely! (the dog rather liked rolling on them too 😦 Dogs will be dogs! ) Belated happy birthday to your son. Any month where you forget to blog has to be a good one. 🙂

  8. Nothing like a birthday to mark the changing seasons and what a beautiful, bright time of year to be celebrating. Love the light and vitality in this great spread!

  9. Pingback: From Venus’s Grace to April’s Fools | Lost in Translation

  10. Ah April. Something about April that represents so much about anticipations, and your images even presented that! This Changing Seasons challenge is really a great idea. I knew it’s going to be awesome from the very start.

    • Thanks Rommel. I think it’s an great challenge too. It keeps me photographing through the year, even when I don’t really want to. I’m glad I decided to keep it going for another year.

  11. Pingback: April’s Changing Seasons: Fifty Shades Of Grey And A Little Bit Of Blue | Tish Farrell

  12. Pingback: Changing Seasons ~ April 2016 [116/365] – tassitus

  13. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – Sydney: April | Pics by Kaz

  14. Pingback: Seasons in the Park: April 2016 | Elizabatz Gallery

  15. Pingback: April trees… | Patricia's Place

  16. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: April sun in Te Atatu | Zimmerbitch

  17. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: April | Destination Unknown

  18. Pingback: Changing Seasons: April Whirlwind | My Life Lived Full

  19. Pingback: RuthsArc

  20. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: April 2016 | Middleton Road

  21. Pingback: April

  22. Oslo seems beautiful in spring… Big hill for the little guy is the cutest photo ever lol 🙂 happy b-day to your adorable son, Viking… 🙂

  23. Pingback: Changing Seasons 4/12 – Mara Eastern

  24. Pingback: Changing Seasons 2016: April | The Storyteller's Abode

  25. Pingback: Changing Seasons ~ April 2016 [117/365] – Tassitus

  26. Great gallery Max – enjoy seeing your young man and your guitar picking too.
    I totally missed last month, but I’m ready for May!! 😃

  27. I don’t see any comment from me here. Am I really that bad? I join in the fun but don’t visit you or anyone else? Well, yes, I can’t deny it. And I promise to be better. Let’s see if I can keep my promise. Your group of images really give a good idea of what this city is like. I love what looks to be an old abandoned factory with water swirling past it and the shots of the train tracks. And I’m enjoying the comments you leave on my posts. Thanks, Max!

    • Well, we can’t visit and write comments on all posts, because it would take up all our time, so you have my full understanding.
      I love your entries to this challenge: they remind me of a mixture between
      Rockstar Games’ “Red Dead Redemption” and the brilliant TV-series
      Breaking Bad with the main character Walter White.

      • Thanks, Max. I know Breaking Bad, but not the other two. This has definitely been a fun challenge so far but it’s going to get difficult in the coming months, it seems. The area I chose is quickly running out of interesting things to shoot. And when I hang around too long, the locals start staring at me to see what I’m up to. Even with a camera in my hands. a suspicious lot!

  28. Pingback: Changing Seasons at the Crags: April – Aspernauts

    • Hehe, your previous one was a bit late, I’ll admit that! 😀 I’ll check out your entry later, I have a mountain of posts to look through this month and haven’t found the time to look at any of them yet (but I will).
      Have a great week!

  29. Pingback: Changing Seasons ~ April 2016 [117/365] – colderweather

Share your opinion

