Icelandic Walls

These were carved in stone. If you want to see these walls, you should visit Reykjavik, Iceland.

“Drinking is an emotional thing. It joggles you out of the standardism of everyday life, out of everything being the same. It yanks you out of your body and your mind and throws you against the wall. I have the feeling that drinking is a form of suicide where you’re allowed to return to life and begin all over the next day. It’s like killing yourself, and then you’re reborn. I guess I’ve lived about ten or fifteen thousand lives now.”
― Charles Bukowski

25 thoughts on “Icelandic Walls

  1. Such character in those carvings! At first I thought they were at urinals, but then when I saw the larger picture…. 🙂 And read your ode to drinking. Happy weekend, Cardinal! (not too happy! 🙂 )

  2. Iceland is high on my list as well. One day… You can’t be everywhere at once; the world will never cease to amaze and attract! One question I have always had about Iceland, though: is the scenery similar to New Zealand? How about the drinking? 🙂

    • I’ve never been to New Zealand, so I don’t know. The drinking culture on Iceland seemed to be pretty similar to the Norwegian & Swedish drinking culture, which basically can be summed up as gettting wasted on Friday and/or Saturday.

Share your opinion

