The History of Tattoo quoted in an article

One of my articles about the history of tattoo have been quoted in another article on the same subject. It’s always an honour to be quoted, especially when it’s from an article that I’ve spent many hours researching and writing. It’s a while ago since both mine and the Gizmodo article was published, but I thought I’d give it a shout out anyway (better late than tomorrow, right?).

gizmodo-faksimile

Facsimile from Gizmodo

If you’re interested, visit Gizmodo for their article and (of course) you can also read my article here in the blog. THis is the second time one of my articles on tattoos have been quoted. The first time was in a scientific paper.

P.S. I’ve started working on a new article on tattooing now (it’s a combined travel report/tattoo article) and, thanks to some inspiration from David Bennett by a comment he left me here in the blog, I’ll also begin to work on my next article in The History of Tattoo.

10 thoughts on “The History of Tattoo quoted in an article

  1. Thanks for the mention 😀

    It’s fascinating.

    And educational to learn that “…tattoos were as much about self-expression as they were about having a unique way to identify a sailor’s body should he be lost at sea or impressed by the British navy….”

    Cicatrisation Is also fascinating. Is it used outside of Africa?

    • I’ll admit that I know nothing about cicatrisation David. Tried to look it up, but only found stuff about wound healing.

      Edit: Found out that it’s a form of scarification. Yes, scarification is also used outside Africa, but it’s not very popular (not in my neck of the woods) and I haven’t seen much of it on tattoo conventions either. One of my random acquaintances have done some scarification at a studio in Oslo.

Share your opinion

