Back in 2011 I wrote a post called «The Ancient Grinding Mills at Leine, Valdres». A few weeks ago I had a Couchsurfer visiting me from Poland and since she’s very interested in old architecture and viking stuff, I decided to re-process these old photos and post them again.

If you want to read about the history of this place, you can check out the original post. Unfortunately I can’t go back in time and improve my shooting skills, so some of the photos are a bit blurry, but I’ve improved my post-processing skills since then. Here’s the gallery from Leinekvernene:

And here’s a gallery with photos shot in the vicinity:

 

 

The grinding mills are situated near Leinesanden (The Leine Sand/ Leine Beach) which is said to be the place where «St. Olaf» (Olaf II Haraldsson, Olav Den Hellige) tried to violently force christianity upon the inhabitants of Vang. When «St. Olaf» forced the new superstition upon the people of Norway, he & his fellow christian men mutilated or murdered those who refused to accept the new, false god, and in some cases they also stole people’s property, so that people would fully comprehend the greatness of Jesus Christ (later on Christianity also stole pre-christian celebrations such as christmas & easter).

 

Original post: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/the-ancient-grinding-mills-at-leine-valdres/

This post is an entry to: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/close-up/