Oslo is my hometown

These photos from Oslo are left-overs from yesterday’s large gallery – a part of my monthly photo challenge: “The Changing Seasons” and my first post for WordPress’ Photo101: «Home».

If you want to know more about «The Changing Seasons», check out my first post here: https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/monthly-photo-challenge-the-changing-seasons-01/

Or, click the image below to see all my previous posts in this challenge.

TheChangingSeasons_6367

61 thoughts on “Oslo is my hometown

  1. Heheheh pick the guy with the fabulous new camera 😜
    These are great CG, really lovely. I especially love the passing tram, early morning street life and all the tulips. Especially the first tulip shot.
    Brilliant.

    • Thanks Desley. I think what you meant to say was: “the fabulous guy with the new camera” 😀
      I like early morning street life (in general), it’s interesting to see a city slowly come to life: junkies are slowly being replaced with street sweepers, bakers and fish mongers, while the city is turning up its tempo.

  2. Me too….
    But , since there aren’t any love buttons ,I’ll spend some words to tell you, fabulous boy, that your photos are always vivid, interesting, new and very, very, very well captured?
    I love them so much!

    • Yes, it’s a good reason to push yourself into shooting & posting often. Not sure if I’ll be able to post every day though, but it’ll be fun to experiment with the new gear.

          • I am just guessing from the first title “home” – the same as the last time. Any way I thought about entering again, but it is a bit too much for me. I already have two regular events every week, plus weekly photo challenge. If it were some other time of the year – such as November – for some reason the month when I publish most or January or February I would gladly enter photo 202 🙂 – not that I think that I am too good for 101, but why go through the same stuff again.

        • I was wondering why they still called it Photo101 and not 201. I won’t bother to come up with posts every day if the themes are the same, but even if I won’t be posting it’s a nice way to interact with other bloggers and make new connections.

        • Looks like you’re right Paula. After 3 days the themes have been home, street & water – exactly the same like last time. Needless to say that I won’t be posting more for photo101 – I’ll rather wait for the next round with new themes.

          • Being a “challenger” myself I know that it is not easy to come up with different themes that are not very specific and can suit anybody. Btw, tomorrow is the decay day. I think it might be a good theme for you 🙂

          • Yes, it’s difficult to come up with themes, but decay can be an interesting subject. I have a lot of things to take care of tomorrow like a meeting in kindergarden, packing & preparing for the weekend, plus going out for dinner, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to participate. Perhaps I can find a photo tonight and save as a draft.

          • That would be nice. You know that on my “scheduled challenges” page you can always see themes in advance.

  3. I agree with the comments from others that I’d be making mine a *love*, not *like*. You always have an interesting selection of photos. Personally I love all the fountains – especially the one in Frogner Park. It has so much interesting detail, I’d be challenged trying to decide on the angle I’d want to capture.

  4. Such big buildings. So much larger than Boston … possible even bigger than New York. Of course, here in Uxbridge, the bank is the big building and it’s only that big because it took over the old inn. It’s three stories tall (phew!) and at its peak, slept almost 20 people. The mills were big, but most of them are closed or converted to housing. Many burned down, too. The biggest ones are simply gone.

    • Thanks a lot! If I had a spray bottle with water, I could have sprayed the petals and it would have been even better. I saw some tempting recipes in your blog. Those almond cookies sounds & looks good and they’re gluten free too!

      • Spraying is such a brilliant idea i’ll need to keep that technique in mind for the future – thanks :). Also thank you for popping by my blog I appreciate it – the cookies are amazing i’ve made quite a few batches but they seem to disappear remarkably fast :(.

  5. Beautiful photos. They remind me of my trip and how much I still have to discover in Oslo. I recognise some places but I haven’t experienced them in such a season (after all I was in January and late April), maybe for another trip. I rode #12 in the same direction, where you going to any place that could be interesting for a tourist? 😉

    • I was just goofing around downtown with my camera when the tram passed. At Kjelsås there’s a technical museum which is fun for kids between 4-12 (you can push all kinds of buttons and try different machines – fun for young boys).
      Photographers can go up to Kjelsås and then follow the river (Akerselva) by foot all the way downtown again. There are plenty of nice scenery along the river and when you reach Grünerløkka, which is towards the end of the river, you can check out that area with all its cafes, bars and small shops.

  6. Love all the shots. I enjoyed the blur of the train and people and the mix of black and whites in there too. It all made the city looks so interesting. I may have to add it to my bucket list of sites to see. Looks like you are getting that new camera down like a pro! This reminds me too…um, I guess I better get out and shoot my challenge for this month. I had Army duty this last weekend, but I am free this weekend!! So pictures coming soon. Thanks for the motivation.

  7. Morrn!
    Wow … Oslo must be so proud to have this representation! What a great collection of a beautiful city. Hats off, CG! 🙂

    I didn’t know they had this Photo101 going again. It was a lot of fun last time!

    Ha det gottis!

Share your opinion

