Frank Znort Quartet

This weekend a lovely couple from Prague came for a visit. On Sunday I took them to see Frank Znort Quartet play live at Blå.

Frank Znort Quartet live at Blå (this Sunday they played with a guest bass player).

Frank Znort Quartet live at Blå (this Sunday they played with a substitute bass player).

Every Sunday at around 16:00, they play an acoustic set outside the bar:

“Frank Znort Quartet (FZQ) is a jazz / punk big band from Oslo. They are known to have held a free concert every Sunday since they began playing in 1998.
They started with their Sunday concerts at St. Hallvard’s bistro in Gamlebyen (the Old City of Oslo), but eventually moved to Grønlandshagen. In the Mid-2000s, they played for a brief period at Café Con Bar. Since 2007 they have had their performances at Blå. FZQ has never been a quartet and currently has 18 permanent musicians and a growing number of guest artists.
” – Wikipedia

Some photos from Sunday 31.05.2015 (keep in mind that I’m still in the process of figuring out my new camera):

Some hours after the acoustic show, they continue the concert inside.

Here are some photos that were shot when they were still playing at Grønlandshagen back in 2006 (They were more punk and more fun back then, but it’s still nice to go to see them live once in a while).
I was lucky enough to be guest appearing on a song called Jimmy Jass, which is my re-written and Norwegian version of The Clash’ “Jimmy Jazz”. These were shot by my friend Simon:

 

Check out FZQ in these links (or check out some more of their material on YouTube, there are lots of clips):

28 thoughts on “Frank Znort Quartet

  1. I love the smokey multicolored lights in some of the shots. Good capture! And the band sounded good too. Fun night it seems:)

  2. Looks like a fun atmosphere there – so many seasoned musicians up there, it looked like a party on stage and not surprised people enjoyed it. You got to guest on vocals for Jimmy Jass in 2006? Amazing. The only time I got to play in a band was in my school orchestra…I played the triangle.

    Lovely photos. Very vivid and cheery.

    • 2006 is a long time ago, it almost feels like it was in a different life. I played that song with them and also on my own concerts many times, but I haven’t played live lately. The last time must have been sometime between 2007-2010 (I can’t remember).
      .
      Hehe, the triangle. I got that one too at some school show. The triangle sucks. You just have to hang around, wait for your moment to shine: *pling*.

      • Maybe you should consider going back to the gigging and the concert scene if the feeling is still there. It’s a fun scene to be in – from both a performer and audience perspective.

        I was given the triangle in the orchestra because I couldn’t play anything else. Worse, each time I hit the triangle it spun and I got told off by the teacher.

    • They have a lot of great material and they record every show. On their concerts you can buy lottery tickets and win a recording of the show they played the previous week.

  3. oh, this is the band you mentioned… they sound nice… and the photos are awesome 🙂 it’s such a long period of concerts from 1998 till now… are there always many people in the audience?

    what is your new camera? I must have missed the post on that…

    ah, so the mohawk was photoshopped? I told you I can never tell the real you after so many different sp lol 🙂

    • There’s always a lot of people at their concerts and if the following Monday is a holiday, you’d better make sure that you’re there early if you want to see their show!

      My new cameras are Olympus OMD Em5II (https://artishorseshit.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/new-toys/) and I’ve also bought a Panasonic Lumix that can fit the same lenses as the Olympus.

      The mohawk wasn’t photoshopped and it’s still there. The shots where I’m performing here, were shot almost a decade ago, back in 2006.

      • oh, gosh, I now see the shots are from 2006, I’ve not understood that part (blush)… so there’s a proof they are playing so many years and with loyal audience 🙂

        • Yes, they have a very loyal audience. Many of the same people have been coming to see them for many years – myself included (but on a very random basis). When they played in my neighborhood, I used to see them almost weekly, but this time I hadn’t seen them for a couple of years. One of their albums is dedicated to a fan: an old man that used to come every Sunday to dance and enjoy the music. I guess he must have been around 75-80 years old.

  4. Very cool. Not common for bands to give free concerts so they must be good guys. You look like you were having fun on stage. The trouble with me is I can never remember the entire words so singing is a no go in public. 🙂

    • Yes, they’re good guys and it was a lot of fun. I wrote the lyrics to the song I sang, so then it’s easier to remember than if you memorize someone else’s lyrics.

Share your opinion

