ABFriday 32: Follow your own footsteps

A man with an umbrella is following his own footsteps in the snow / A man with an umbrella has a feeling that someone is following him.

A man with an umbrella is following his own footsteps in the snow / A man with an umbrella has a feeling that someone is following him.

Stacy is arranging something called «After Before Friday». Here’s what she has to say about it:

After-Before Friday posts provide an opportunity for photographers (amateur and seasoned, alike) to share their photos, and if they wish, their post-processing decisions. The photos will provide a fun “wow” factor; the post-processing descriptions, the “how.” The goal is to enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at others’ work while picking up helpful ideas along the way that each of us can use as we work with our own photos.

This was my process: I merged three photos into a panorama in Photoshop (but I ended up using only two of them), saved the file as TIF and opened it in Lightroom. In Lightroom I played around with the settings, Most importantly I added midtones (sat clarity to 100) and removed the saturation for all the colours except yellow. I also did some brightening. You can see all the settings in this gallery:

Here’s a link to Stacy’s post. It’ll be live on Friday afternoon. http://visualventuring.com/2015/01/16/after-before-friday-32/

24 thoughts on “ABFriday 32: Follow your own footsteps

  1. Now that’s an interesting concept CG ! I really like it .. and so well executed . It’s a great challenge to follow .

  2. Wonderful, Cardinal. Very seamless merging, I suppose that would be the hardest part of the whole process. Stitching photos together to make a panorama is always painful for me. Love how you brought out the whiteness of the snow in the end. Brilliant.

  3. Pingback: After-Before Friday Week 32 | Visual Venturing

  4. After all you said and all you did this is definitely a work of art,thank you both I have yet learned something else from you the camera people,great work

  5. Max, this is an awesome after-before! Clearly shows the “how” and the “wow” 🙂 I love the feeling of the final image; it reminds me of Bedford Falls from one of my all-time favorite Christmas movies “It’s a Wonderful Life.” And the hint of yellow? Inspired. Thanks so much for participating in ABFriday!

  6. Fantastic I love how you merged some shots together to get the one subject moving across the frame. The selective coloring works really well and this is coming from someone who kind of dislikes that style. Great work.

  7. I would never thought about it by looking at your pictures! Very well done, the result is great (I love the snowflakes and the lights… Probably it was so cold, that almost no body was out there, but still, beautiful)

  8. Great work and great result. I like the touch of yellow but I also get a bit of magenta- unless that’s just a trick of the light. I love how we can now see the snow!

  9. I love the seamless merging of the two photos and I really like how you kept the yellow too. Awesome edits. 😀

Share your opinion

