B&W Challenge 3-5: Yule Decorations

Yule decorationas at a market in Oslo.

The wonderful Ksenia has challenged me to post black & white photos for the up-coming five days. It took me a few weeks to notice that I’d been challenged, but better late than never!

In return I nominate this blogger that I’ve recently discovered: thejeremynix @ thejeremynix.com

In order to take this challenge, you must post B&W photography for the next five days, and each day nominate another photographer to enter the challenge. Good luck!
(Needless to say, but of course you can also choose to not participate or to do it later if it doesn’t fit your current schedule).

Also check out Photo101 rehab: http://luciledegodoy.com/2014/12/04/photo101-rehab/

48 thoughts on “B&W Challenge 3-5: Yule Decorations

  1. Pingback: Curses (B&W2, Rehab11) | musings of a frequent flying scientist

  2. Very cool as usual Cardinal. I love the composition – those sharp Christmas baubles (with your selfie!) and the people walking in the background – just right!

        • That’s true. Being a trendsetter can be rough sometimes!
          Trivia: Inside the plastic bag is something I picked up from the market – Fenalår – a cured leg of mutton (a Norwegian specialty that I bought for Yule).

          • Trendsetting is a vocation of tireless dedication i fear but always appreciated by the masses. Re trivia: yum sounds delish and though i am sure you ate it did you cook it yourself? 🙂 whats a traditional Norwegian pudding?

        • We haven’t started it yet. We’re saving it for the Holiday celebrations and the family breakfast. It’s a leg of cured meat, so it’ll last for a long time.and it’s not meant for cooking. It’s something similar to the Spanish Serrano ham, but it’s made from goat, not pig.

          When it comes to pudding it’s not that common to serve. There’s one dessert called “Princess Pudding” that’s made out of semolina. The most common traditional Yule dessert (in Norwegian we use the word Jul = Yule for Christmas) is “Rice Cream”, which is a form of pudding, but it’s softer.
          Rice cream is a tradition that we’ve got from Denmark back in the old days when Norway was ruled from Denmark.

          • Ah yes silly me, I swapped the word cured for marinated, so with thought about cooking. I have only ever tried goat in curry, so can’t imagine a cold cured one especially for breakfast. What do you have with it for breakfast?

            I like the name Princess Pudding and semolina has to be better than tapioca which was its poor cousins alternative at school it seemed and everyone hate it because they thought it was like frog spawn, yuk!

            Talking about food is making me hungry 🙂

        • We eat Fenalår with bread (or crackers). Because it’s salty, it’s nice to eat it with something fresh like tomatoes or melon. You can also have it in a salad (it’s good with Greek salads), or just eat a small piece like a snack. A lot of people eat it with oat porridge, but the classical way to serve it is with scrambled eggs, potato salad, flat-bread, and sour cream.

          • yes sounds it..now I am not sure what i have replied or commented on, please ignore my questions about the B&W challenge, i was in panic mode and sorted it out now, done my first post today and might use some from before with Xmas rush and kids home and all. Would love to use the photo I mentioned for next week if you will allow me. Sometimes my phone doesnt send the messages I think it does so never sure whether I am coming or going.. :-0

          • Panic mode is fine! No problem 🙂 You can use the photo. I’m more than happy to let you use it in your post! My email is cardinalguzman at gmail.com, but you don’t have to show me the quote that you mentioned, I prefer to see it in your post.

Share your opinion

