star effects | double

A few weeks ago a fellow blogger asked me how you get the star effects on artificial light in night photos. That person thought it was a stupid question, but I disagree. I think it’s a good question and I think that it’s good to ask about stuff. Without asking questions, there would be no new knowledge.

In my two example shots, you can clearly see the star effect appearing when shooting at a small aperture (I shot at f/22).

Compare the two shot at 25,0 sec at f/22, ISO 100 and 2,0 sec at f/4,5, ISO 100.

The theme for #photo101 today is Double.

If you really want to get nerdy and dirty, here’s further reading on the star effect for you:

46 thoughts on “star effects | double

  1. Bike pics especially of a solitary bike pic are romantic in themselves, with added stars even more so. It is very commendable that you want to teach your readership stuff. I remember when stars were an enigma to me, and then I found out that there is nothing to it 😉 Beautiful examples, CG. Great photos!

    • Thank you very much Paula. I enjoy sharing the occasional informative post from time to time. Especially when it’s posts like this that are quick and easy to write and illustrate.

  2. Great Cardinal!!! And thanks for the link…I will follow the first one…Looks like a cool place…
    I am a disaster with stars and bokeh.. Now I am learning the second one…Well…This is photography, isen´t it? You have to learn everyday!!!!

  3. Great shot, Cardinal; and thanks for sharing the knowledge. I appreciate it. And agree that we can never learn if not asking questions. I just tried it and found it cool. As I still don’t have a tripod, I used some books on the table to double as one…;-) Thanks again…

  4. The addition of the star effect definitely adds to the effect of the first picture. I think I’m going to be trying this out some time! Thanks for the info. 🙂

    • Hi Ady. I’ve looked it up and on Nikon COOLPIX L310 (or do you have L330?), there is no option to adjust aperture.
      You can try the “Night landscape” mode, but I doubt that it’ll work. I’ve never tried your camera, but I assume that the Night Landscape mode shoots on a wide aperture like f/4 or something similar.

      • Yes,its L330,and I am just learning,I will do a thorough read on the modes and possible apertures 🙂 Thank you very much for giving me a clue 😀

  5. Fabulous collection of stars Cardinal and good explanation! I love shooting at night but it’s all snatch and grab, and blurry lights . . .

    • I love roaming the streets at night, setting up the tripod and taking shots. Street photography at night can be cool too, but my DSLR can’t really handle high ISO that well.

  6. great, great post, Cardinal!! thanks for the explanation and the awesome shots to illustrate the star effect… night shots (and low-light shots in general) are my greatest challenge… I need to read more and practice more… thanks for the inspiration!!

    needless to ask, but still… these were both not hand-held, right? you used a tripod?

    • Thank you Alexandra. Yes, I used a tripod on both shots and also set the self-release on 2-seconds – that way you eliminate camera shake from when you’re pressing the shutter.

      • Thank you for the encouragement. I will first need to learn to even shoot. Then come effects. But this one is something I need to bookmark. I’m loving Lucile’s Rehab and learning tricks from fellow — and better — patients!

  7. Pingback: Photo101 Rehab #8 | lucile de godoy

  8. Pingback: night shots – colderweather

Share your opinion

