Horta – Azorean Islands – Portugal

Horta, Portugal: A couple of years ago we went to visit the Azorean Islands of Portugal.

Since then I’ve had these photos in a “waiting to be published” folder on my computer. Today I figured that it was about time to post them in this point&shoot gallery:

 

Horta (Portuguese pronunciation: [ˈɔɾtɐ]) is a single municipality and city in the western part of the Archipelago of the Azores, encompassing the island of Faial. The population in 2011 was 14,994,[1] in an area of 173.06 km².[2] The city of Horta itself has a population of about 7,000.[3] – Wikipedia

Night waves hit Horta in this music clip:

Related posts: 

47 thoughts on “Horta – Azorean Islands – Portugal

  1. Lovely galleries, Cardinal! It looks very much as I expected from my Portuguese travels. I’ve been to Madeira but the Azores are still on my list.
    Love that ‘telescope’ effect you have. Very many thanks for joining in. I enjoyed your contribution. 🙂

  2. Couldn’t listen to the music but only look at the pictures: fantastic!
    Read that you won’t return to the Azores…what’s wrong with them ?
    I’m asking you because they’re on my list!

    • Perhaps you can try to watch the clip on YouTube? Here’s the link: youtube.com/watch?v=Y2y2eQEFm2Q

      I won’t return to the Azores because for me it was nice, but not enough action. I like cities, people, pubs, art, concerts, etc. The food was a bit disappointing too: there was a lot of boring restaurants there, but we did find one small family restaurant that was totally amazing (not in Horta, but on another island).

  3. Somebody wanted to screw up your score 😛 I wanted to leave comments under individual pics but it did not let me on every one of them. Is that you playing again??

  4. Wonderful pictures (really interesting the vignette effect on landscapes!). I have never been in Azores but I am from Pontevedra, a little city on the North of Portugal. Because of this, I feel Portugal as a second home, and I always enjoy the language, landscapes, food, people…of this wonderful country. Now it is so far away! I hope to get the chance to visit it again in my next trip to Spain!

  5. Loved the crashing waves…marvelous. And how vividly I could hear the hiss of the sea in those crackling blue images. Absolutely wonderful! Cheers,

    Autumn Jade

  6. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Captain Cook’s Monument | restlessjo

  7. I’ve never been to the Azores, and I’ve never heard of Horta before ut I once used photos of the landscape to help compose a fantasy art painting. It’s a very beautiful part of the world.

    • The Azores is an archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean, the last stop for sailors travelling between the U.S. and Europe. The scenery there is amazing and the weather is quite unpredictable.

  8. Lovely series CG . Intrigued as not many or rather ANYone who’s visited . Husband keen on the geology aspect . It’s become considerably less expensive to travel there now but maybe expensive to stay I don’t know . One for the future . Loved the little music clip … and that coastline and waters gorgeously rugged .. my kind of place 🙂

Share your opinion

