Strawberry, Chili, Ginger & Mint Jam

This is my recipe for jam with strawberries, chili, ginger, mint, vanilla, lemon, lime, pepper, cloves and star anise.

Click your way through the gallery to see and read about the process.

Ingredients: 

  • 2 kilograms of berries.
  • 300 grams of stevia, alternatively 500 grams of sugar (choose the amount of stevia/sugar after your own taste).
  • 1 red chili (with or without seeds)
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 lime
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1 star anise
  • 70 grams of pectin (I use one bag, 70 grams, plus a bit more so that the jam turns a bit firm – easier for kids to handle. Also the pectin that you buy in Norway isn’t 100% pectin, but contains sugar, pectin, citric acids etc.)
  • a lump of ginger
  • some pepper corns
  • some cloves
  • a cup of water
  • a cup of sugar
  • a handful of freshly chopped mint
  • clean jars
35 thoughts on “Strawberry, Chili, Ginger & Mint Jam

  1. Brilliant colourful images, CG, and great idea; I’ll bet it tastes absolutely luscious!

    • This was my first time making jam, but it won’t be the last. I found a basic recipe on plain jam and elaborated it a little bit, made it more complex. The taste was great and I’ve gotten a lot of good feedback from tasters.

  2. You were able to find stevia at last 🙂 This looks a lot more exciting than the usual strawberry jam. I love chilli, ginger, peppers 🙂 Is it customary to serve jam with meat in Norway?

    • Yes, they’ve started selling stevia in the supermarkets now! I wouldn’t be surprised if the reason for it being forbidden before, has something to do with one of our previous prime ministers ties to the sugar industry. There’s also a heavy taxation on sugar and sugar related products…
      Anyway, now that it’s available, I no longer have to ask my uncle to bring me stevia that turns out to be “random something” from Japan 😀

      In Norway you’ll often see that people serve and lingonberry jam, but not other types of jam. I made onion jam / onion chutney yesterday (I’ll probably post the recipe soon), which goes well with meat, but I’ve never been served onion jam. I have some lingonberries in the freezer, so I’ll probably make jam out of them too: they contain benzoic acid naturally, so there’s no need to add pectin.

      What about Croatia? Is it customary to serve jam with meat there?

  3. for some reason i’m not getting your posts in my stream.
    very odd as i’m following you.

    • You can try to unfollow and follow again, perhaps that helps. (but then you’ll have to turn off the email notifications, if you don’t want to get spammed with emails every time I post something).

  4. This recipe seems way to damn fancy for an average bottom feeder like me! Haha. Jk. Wow. Cool. Really enjoy the vibrant photos. These definitely have some pizzazz!

  5. you changed the layout of the blog, right? looking good 🙂 I only now realized you got a page on Recipes 🙂 got a lot to catch up on your blog 🙂

    • That’s correct: I’ve changed the looks here quite often recently, but the recipe page has been around since I started this blog. I’m glad you discovered it! 👍

Share your opinion

