Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Threshold is the theme for WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge this week. I’ve interpreted it from point 3 in the list below. 

drugs_1336

threshold (ˈθrɛʃəʊld; ˈθrɛʃˌhəʊld) n (from thefreedictionary.com)

  1. (Building) Also called: doorsill a sill, esp one made of stone or hardwood, placed at a doorway.
  2. any doorway or entrance.
  3. the starting point of an experience, event, or venture: on the threshold of manhood.
  4. (Psychology) psychol the strength at which a stimulus is just perceived Compare absolute threshold, difference threshold: the threshold of consciousness.
  5. a. a level or point at which something would happen, would cease to happen, or would take effect, become true, etc
    b. (as modifier): threshold price; threshold effect.
  6. (General Physics)
    a. the minimum intensity or value of a signal, etc, that will produce a response or specified effect: a frequency threshold.
    b. (as modifier): a threshold current.
  7. (Industrial Relations & HR Terms) (modifier) designating or relating to a pay agreement, clause, etc, that raises wages to compensate for increases in the cost of living[Old English therscold; related to Old Norse threskoldr, Old High German driscubli, Old Swedish thriskuldi]

drugs_1338

Cilje. R.I.P. Here’s a song for you:

See more photo interpretations of Threshold at WordPress: dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/photo-challenge-threshold/

27 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

  1. When I heard of this challenge I wanted to do #3 too but I had nothing similar and the time is so short these days. I love the song Max. The photos are terrific. Congrats on great interpretation!

    • Thanks Paula. The song is a country version of an old punk song and I think it suits this post. The singer, Tim Timebomb from Rancid, also made the original version.

  2. Very good interpretation of the theme. Our first experience (of whatever) is often a threshold to another life. Often, one that is deceptively better. Good shot.

  3. Photo’s are great, and edited in b&w to help add drama to a story that you are trying to say is either the beginning of the end or the start of a good night if your into that :), I think it’s the fore based on the R.I.P

  4. Cool entry for the challenge, Max. Great photostory indeed. And I agree with all the ones that agree with Bob. 😃 I’m sure, Cilje would have loved the music.
    Ha en fin søndag!

  5. I immediately recognized Tim Timebomb from Rancid. Never heard this song, but I liked it! I love Red Hot Moon. Great set of shots, I love the B&W and great angles! 🙂

    • I love Rancid. I’ve kind of grown up with them as I’ve listened to them since their first album in ’93. Red Hot Moon is a catchy and nice tune: there’s also a lot of other good songs on the “Indestructible” album; ‘Memphis’, ‘Fall Back Down’, ‘Stand Your Ground’ and more.

  6. Outstanding images. A bit of complexity that makes your mind drifts. There’s also a very dramatic effect to it. Contemplative, empathy, pure art. Well done, CG

Share your opinion

