Kraków – Photo Gallery

Kraków. Some info from Wikipedia: The city has grown from a Stone Age settlement to Poland’s second most important city. It began as a hamlet on Wawel Hill and was already being reported as a busy trading centre of Slavonic Europe in 965. The city’s full official name is Stołeczne Królewskie Miasto Kraków, or “Royal Capital City of Kraków”. 

Kraków (Polish pronunciation: [ˈkrakuf] also Cracow, or Krakow (US English /ˈkrækaʊ/, British English /ˈkrækɒv/) is the second largest and one of the oldest cities in Poland. Situated on the Vistula River (Polish: Wisła) in the Lesser Poland region, the city dates back to the 7th century. Kraków has traditionally been one of the leading centres of Polish academic, cultural, and artistic life and is one of Poland’s most important economic hubs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kraków

Visit other cities in other blogs: 

 

40 thoughts on “Kraków – Photo Gallery

  1. Wow these are so amazing. Would be great if you would enable it so I can see the whole post in my reader. Make it so much easier when I have to use my kindle…pretty please.

      • it just makes it really easy to catch up with blogs you follow if you can do it that way. I take my kindle now as use it as a laptop when I go away. So much smaller and easier. But it is a bit of a pain to switch from the wordpress reader to the blogs. Typical wordpress.

        • I’ve changed the setting now, so it should work. The problem is that I lose visitors with that setting, so it’s likely that I’ll change it back again.

          • Yea…you do in your stats…but they are actually still visiting. I figure whatever makes it easier for people to view and comment. They are still seeing what the post is about and for me for example, except when at home I would actually end up not checking on blogs at all if I couldn’t do it on a mobile device…too much bother.

        • I disagree with you on the visiting part: If a reader is only visiting the blog through the WordPress reader, he/she will move on to the next blog on their reader list afterwards. But, if you get them to actually visit your blog, then there’s a chance he/she will also read previous posts in your blog.

          • That is true for first time readers CG, but how many first time readers get to your blog through a reader…most use the reader for blogs they already follow I think…and they want to see the latest posts. I think that if they want to check out your blog…they will. This [in my opinion] merely caters for the reader who is either lazy and wouldn’t check out other posts anyway…or already a repeat visitor, but using their mobile device. Honestly…for me…the blogs where I have to click to go through…I usually don’t, unless it is already a blog I visit [like yours]. I actually get annoyed at having to do that and think…bugger off then. But if by chance I come across a new blog in my reader with a post that interests me [and I can see the whole thing] there is a better chance I might follow the blog to see more. That’s is just me though.

        • Thanks again Jo. That sounds like reasonable and valid arguments. I really appreciate your thoughts on this, because I never use mobile devices, so I lack the experience and knowledge on how they work regarding blogging and blog reading.

    • Thank you Mick. I appreciate your opinion – if I didn’t want to hear people’s opinions I would never have a comment field 🙂 Next time perhaps I’ll try one with only black & white shots?

  2. This gallery is AMAZING! My hands-down favorite is the small image of the church with horse & buggy in the middle of the set. I love the treatment you put on these shots too, very appropriate mood. This is definitely one city that I hope to visit.

  3. I was there my self a couple of years ago, acompanying my oldest daughter on a round trip with “The White Busses” an organisation that takes Norwegian school children to see Nazi consentration camps. Kraków is a fascinating city. Did you go to the famous salt mines just outside the city?

    • It seems like The White Buses have changed their means of transportation now, because there was a bunch of teenagers travelling with their teachers on the flight from Gardermoen.
      I didn’t get to see the salt mines, nor the concentration camps, because I was busy doing photo shoots both inside and outside studios the whole weekend while I was there.

  4. A wonderful set of shots of this fascinating town Cardinal. The final shot is an absolute stunner!

    (and thank you so much for the pingy back!)

    • I really like the last one too. It was shot hand-held at high ISO, so there was a lot of noise in the photo. In the post-processing I therefore decided to add a lot of contrast and darken it, which I think made it really cool. As you know: Scandinavians are fond of darkness.

  5. Great gallery, Cardinal! I love the moody skies 🙂
    You are Norwegian? I don’t even know where you currently live? Simply that our paths have crossed in the past.

Share your opinion

