C8H10N4O2

C8H10N4O2? The chemical formula for caffeine: Carbon 8, Hydrogen 10, Nitrogen 4, Oxygen 2.

Caffeine is the world’s most used drug: 90% of North American adults consume caffeine daily. For a long time I was planning to shoot these photos, the only thing I had to do was to go and buy some beans, so when Pierre from South Africa sent me coffee beans I had no reason to postpone it.

The organically grown beans Pierre sent had a very mild and fruity flavor and they were roasted at Espressolab Microroasters in South Africa. After the beans were grinded, we had to mix it with some locally roasted, strong, black coffee, in order to give it the kick that we need. Coffee is definitely a drink that has changed the world.

Check out Pierre’s blog: vasgevang.co.za
Pierre and I were connected through Jen: ohmyomiyage.wordpress.com
Wikipedia on caffeine: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caffeine
WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

25 thoughts on “C8H10N4O2

  1. All you said is true… I remember having my first coffee when I was about 3 or 4. It was mixed with milk though. It is nice to see you playing with the grains :D. Fun shots CG 🙂

  2. Love the colour – makes me want a second cup (sorry, bad pun) – coffee is very much like drugs, there’s the good stuff and then there’s everything else….

  3. I’m not addicted as in I don’t have withdrawal symptoms when I don’t have it and I don’t display other addict behaviors when I can’t have it (which I will not get into right now, ahem) but I do really appreciate coffee and caffeine, it does wonders for both my chronic head ache condition and my gastrointestinal disorder so yey, miracle drug 🙂

  4. One of my grandfathers that died before I was born had a coffee tree on his farm, and so he would make his own coffee, and raised his children on it. My mother is nearly 80 now, and she’s so addicted that she can’t start her day without a cup.

    • A coffee tree on his farm sounds fantastic. I wish I had a house with a garden in a climate that would allow such things. Apropos coffee: I’ll go make some right now!
      Have a wonderful weekend Allan.

  5. Pingback: My Best Photos 2013? | Cardinal Guzman

  6. Pingback: If we were having C8H10N4O2 – artishorseshit

Share your opinion

