My friend said that he always used Photomatix Pro for his HDR-photos, so I decided to try it out. Normally I use Photoshop for all my image editing and occasionally Adobe Lightroom. I decided to make 4 different versions of the same 3 bracketed photos and post one of the original photos, so that you (and I) can compare. 

I’m new to Photomarix Pro, so the result probably looks different from it would if I were familiar with the software. First the original photo and at the end there’s a gallery for easy maneuvering:

Original photo. I've only done some small adjustments to the raw file.
Original photo. I’ve only done some small adjustments to the raw file.

HDR made with Photoshop.
HDR made with Photoshop.
HDR made with Photoshop, plus adjustments on mid-tones and vibrance in Lightroom.
HDR made with Photoshop, plus adjustments on mid-tones and vibrance in Lightroom.
HDR made with Photomatrix.
HDR made with Photomatix.
HDR made with Photomatrix, plus adjustments on mid-tones and vibrance in Lightroom.
HDR made with Photomatix, plus adjustments on mid-tones and vibrance in Lightroom.

Gallery:

Which version do you prefer, why and what software is your first choice when processing images?