Details from the last day of winter?

It’s a bit early to say, but the day these pictures were shot might have been the last day of winter for now…

Of course, winter has its ways and can suddenly come back to surprise us all – weeks after we’d all forgotten that it ever existed. Anyway: one day I was on my way to slavery work as usual and as I was looking out the bus window, I noticed that ice crystals had attached themselves on the branches of our friends: the trees. I thought to myself that this might be the last opportunity to capture this scene on film (or on memory card) for a while, so I got off the bus and took some photos (you never want to miss out on a great opportunity, right?).

Enjoy the gallery:

Not that you’ll remember (or really care), but I’ll probably post some more photos from this “last day of winter” in a few days or so…

Make sure to check out more in the WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge: Details. dailypost.wordpress.com – Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details

Here’s a few entries that I think show some great photographic quality (you’re not on the list? Don’t worry, I haven’t had the time to check out all the entries):

36 thoughts on “Details from the last day of winter?

    • I think it is, but unfortunately it’s also the coldest season (it’s a bitch to shoot in, because your fingers turn fucking cold) and it’s not so nice when it all starts to melt and turns into brown slush. Also, let me quote Frank Zappa:

      Don’t eat the yellow snow

  1. The detail of the ice crystals is beautiful, all those little spiky hairs made me shiver!

  2. Pingback: Daily Post – Lost in the Details | thegingerbreadcafe

  3. This is a great gallery, I really like the ice crystals. Interesting because I was looking at your newer post, Sagene Kirke #3 first, and I wouldn’t have connected these two scenes if you hadn’t.

  4. What a fantastic set of photos, Cardinal! Maybe you should walk home more often. I adore the serenity in these photos. Oh, and yay bokeh!

  5. Have you found that by turning off likes you get more of either views or comments? I know that a lot of likes come right out of the reader without anyone viewing the post.

    • I’m not sure if I get more views or not because of the like button, but I don’t think that it affects the statistics. I get more views now than what I did before, but that’s because I have more followers now.
      I think I get more comments without the like button: if people wants me to know that they’ve been here, they’ll have to write something.

Share your opinion

