Skipping Home

Today I decided to get off the bus and walk home.

I had my camera with me and the light and the snow was beautiful, so I figured I had to take advantage of the situation. It’s very easy to come up with all kind of excuses: “Not today, I’m too tired”,  “Not today, there’s this TV-program I need to waste my time on”, “Not today, I really need to take a shit”, etc, etc.
Then, all of a sudden, the winter is over, there’s no more snow and you’ll have to wait for the next winter to get that winter shot you were thinking about…
Humans seems to have an endless list of excuses. There’s more excuses than there are situations: for every situation there’s at least 10 excuses and the list is growing. Collectively we’re all experts in not getting things done. We’ve even built our modern societies around not getting things done – it’s called bureaucracy.

Keeping the economy running at any cost seems to be the only important thing we as humans can do. Never mind inventing things, taking care of each other and being creative. Let’s all just do pointless things just to pretend…

So, as I said: today I decided to go on a photo walk home. On my way I saw this:

winter-bridge_8108

A kid came skipping along and I realized that I’m an old fart: young, happy people are skipping – old farts are walking.
And let’s face it: most of us are old farts.

Here’s some more photos from today:

38 thoughts on “Skipping Home

  1. Cameras are brilliant excuses for getting out and doing something – of course one time mine did get me in to a some what awkward conversation with a Jehova’s Witness 😉 I was just outside trying to take some pictures and she thought it would be a good opportunity to try to convert me *sigh* ahh well, enjoy your skips, beautiful winter pictures!

      • They do say that sharing is caring but yes… I like how you put it, or I’ve also read recently the analogy that having a religion is like having a penis, it’s ok to have one and be proud of it – but don’t go waving it around in my face! lol! That one made me laugh.

  2. Oh wow … it really is a beautiful time in Norway! Good for you, that you got off the bus! What you wrote, made me think of boozers making up excuses to get drunk again: It’s lousy weather, it’s beautiful weather, it’s the cat’s birthday … the list could go on endlessly.

  3. Oh my god! Absolutely gorgeous! I think we should have national skipping day sometime this week. Even us old farts haven’t forgotten how to skip.

  4. So true about the tendency to put things off and then next thing you know winter has passed. Fabulous images. Here’s to more skipping.

    • I know. It happened to me autumn 2 years ago. I was thinking about photographing this colorful tree, but I was waiting for that perfect moment. Suddenly one day there was strong winds and all the leaves disappeared.

  5. Kudos to you for breaking the mold! I’m ashamed to admit, but I fall under the category of people who only have excuses. Sigh. 😦

    Your post was inspiring. Next time I start hunting for excuse, I’ll remind myself of this. 🙂

  6. Pingback: More Winter Photos from Yesterday’s Walk | Cardinal Guzman

Share your opinion

