Color VS B/W

The only thing I did here was to add vignette using the raw file in Photoshop

The only thing I did here was to add vignette using the raw file in Photoshop

I decided to try out Silver Efex for this black& white  photo. Normally I use Photoshop for my editing, but Jeff mentioned Silver Efex and then I suddenly remembered that I have a version installed. I’m not so familiar with the S.Efex software, so I can only do basic stuff, but it’s quite easy to maneuver and the GUI is user-friendly.
In my opinion both the results are pleasing and Silver Efex was easy to use (even for a Photoshopper like myself).

I chose a photo that I shot in the botanical garden here in Oslo. The color version has been edited in Photoshop and the only thing I did was to add some vignette using the raw file.
For the B/W version I changed the structure and contrast in Silver Efex Pro, then I Used Photoshop to add a brightness/contrast layer and a small touch of vignette with the Lens correction filter.

- Changed the structure and contrast in Silver Efex Pro. - Added brightness/contrast layer, plus a vignette with the Lens correction filter in Photoshop.

– Changed the structure and contrast in Silver Efex Pro. – Added brightness/contrast layer, plus a vignette with the Lens correction filter in Photoshop.

Now I’ll try to catch up on some commenting and blog reading 🙂

36 thoughts on “Color VS B/W

  1. The best thing about Silver Efex, the presets are so good I usually just click on the one that “works” and I’m done. High Structure is a personal favorite.

    If you like Silver Efex Pro, you’ll LOVE Silver Efex Pro 2!

      • I putter around with HDR a bit, because I like the effect on certain images. I got photomatix because I got a student discount and because I don’t use Photoshop, just Aperture. Photomatix does have some fairly simple features though, so it is easy to just dabble.

        • I would have checked it out, but my hard-disk is quickly filling up! Perhaps if I’ll clean up the hard disk I’ll have enough space to check out other programs 🙂
          I’ve experimented with some HDR in Photoshop, but I’m not very good at it and there’s just too many things to be done, so I guess I’ll have to quit my job to have enough time to do it all..
          (and quitting my job is really not an option).

  2. Glad to see you expanding your photo editing horizons! With more practice you will start to see potential shots that word better than a other for using Silver Efex.

  3. So, I guess responding to posts on my iphone while in the car (not driving!) without my reading glasses leads to comments winding up under someone else’s reply… Your b/w photo reminds me very much of a childhood memory of picking up african violet leaves that had fallen of the plant – that sensation of crisp and fuzzy all at the same time…

    • I like the fact that people are responding to my posts and I also like it when people start their own debates under my posts. This last week I’ve been too busy to reply to anything, so it’s nice to see that the blog ‘lives it’s own life’ (even if it was by accident).

  4. Yes I also prefer the colour image. I’ve never heard of this software though, so always good to know about what’s out there.

  5. Pingback: Silver Efex Pro « Raven Photography UK

  6. B/W by a slim margin. If you boost the colour saturation and then brighten the colour version, I think it will top the B/W version.

Share your opinion

