Photographing and timing

We were in Lisbon and on our last night there we had a hotel room with a view over a glass roof that covered the reception area. It was a full moon night and early in the morning, as I was trying to capture the reflection of the full moon that was hiding behind the next-door building, a plane from the national airline TAP Portugal flew by.

Luckily I managed to capture it, but then I suddenly thought to myself that since the hotel was nearby the airport, it would probably be possible to capture some more flight-photos from the same window? After all, the airplanes always follow the same route when they approach the airport for landing…
Sure enough: the flights kept coming, so I got to shoot more photos (and I also got to snap some shots after breakfast).

I guess these photos show that when it comes to photographing, timing is important.

This was posted under the category Vehicles

What about you? Do you have any photos to share where the timing has been the key to get a good result? If so, please add a link in the comment field.

18 thoughts on “Photographing and timing

  1. Nice work- I stay in a Hotel right next to an International Airport and I ALWAYS try to get them!!

  2. Perfectly caught CG 🙂 Well done! I would not like to have a room so close to the airport, but in your case it paid off :). The only pic of mine where timing was crucial was the one of my pooping pigeon 😉 Remember it? 😀

  3. Great work resulting from patience and a willingness to keep shooting. I really like the photograph and the bent air plane, it’s so surreal.

    • Thank you Otto. Yes, it did require some patience: I had to stand in a weird position on the window-ledge for quite some time, while trying to listen for the next plane. In the end it was a lot of waiting and many failed shots that were out of focus or too blurry, but it was worth it and it’s satisfying when you get a good shot.

Share your opinion

