Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary Fight

Grenoble, France: lion de Saint-Laurent, Fontaine au lion, by ; Victor Sappey

Grenoble, France: lion de Saint-Laurent, Fontaine au lion, by ; Victor Sappey

Fontaine au lion in Grenoble, near the bridge Saint-Laurent. The lion symbolizes the city, defeating the Isère river, represented by a snake. Sculpture by Victor Sappey, 1843. Sappey was inspired by the violent encounter of the two rivers, which was often punctuated by devastating floods. The fountain was carved directly into the stone.

At first I shot a version of this photo in the middle of the day, but the hard light ruined the atmosphere, so I decided to return in the night-time and shoot it again. To me it’s something solitary over this statue in the sense that you’ll have to fight your own fights in this life: no one can fight them for you.

Now that you’re here, please enjoy this clip with classical guitar. I composed the tune while my friend Sjur made the rhythm. We played this song in my mom’s funeral and it’s called “A Tune For Mom”.

Here’s another fountain sculpted by Vitor Sappeys: Chateau d’eau, Place Grenette, Grenoble.

Related Posts:

You’ll find more of my music in these posts:

59 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary Fight

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Challenge: Solitary Bicycle « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | Life of 24 Hours

  4. Pingback: Jinan Daily Photo

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Natsukashi Kansai

  6. Pingback: The Weekly Challenge: Solitary Colleville-sur-Mer Reflection « What's (in) the picture?

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Beijing Daily Photo 2

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Solitary | Just Snaps

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Solitary | Chittle Chattle

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | Humbled Pie

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | Project 365 Challenge in 2012

  12. To be honest, that lion is a little creepy. Kudos to you for returning at night or this shot wouldn’t have come out half as powerful as it is now. 🙂

    PS: I am back!
    PPS: What happened to the ‘like’ button?

  13. I honestly don’t know what to say Cardinal! The music is such a poignant tribute to your mother and I hear so much tenderness and hope in those notes. Love the power in your lion shot!

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | Here & Abroad

  15. You are nuts :D… I have noticed only now your star description .D. They’ve banned all video contents access on our computers at work so I will see it at home. One thing I want to tell you. The mere pic and text have earned their right to be featured on my widget area under “Posts worth checking out” – as if anybody is paying attention to this anyway :P. But first I want to watch that video to make sure I dont make any faux pas ….. Hope this Friday comes soon for you. x

    • You noticed it quickly because I just changed it this morning!
      Too bad that they’ve banned videos at your work… I don’t know if people notice things like “Posts worth checking out”, but I’m still honored to be found worthy such a list. Thanks Paula.

      • No problem ;). I will make sure to see that video when I get home … I am still smiling cause I guessed your astrological sign, and it is my sign too, but you probably think it is a load of bull :D, but it is not, and I’ve just proved it :D. I hope to get some cool sexcellent stars from you in the future 😉

  16. You are talented!!! How long did it take you to compose that? Max, this is really touching, and admirable that you were able to perform at your Mom’s funeral. I was looking for a connection between the title of the post and the video, and it hit me. … your Mom was probably a fighter too, and as such certainly deserved such a beautiful tribute on her last journey.

    • Thank you very much Paula.
      I woke up one morning and picked up my guitar and then the tune was just there, it sort of just fell out of my fingers onto the guitar. I knew I was onto something, so I called my friend and told him to come over and bring his guitar: we sat down and played while he composed the rhythm guitar.
      My friend Sjur also played it with me in my moms funeral, so I’m forever thankful for that. We also got to play it for my mom while she was still alive (she was sick for many years).
      It was a worthy farewell.

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Authentic Photography

Share your opinion

