Panning a moving subject

Just after I bought the new camera my mother-in-law wondered why I shot so many pictures of cars as we were driving from place to place. I tried to explain to her that I was practicing the technique of panning a moving subject, but she didn’t understand what the fuck I was talking about.

This is what I was talking about:

If you want to try this technique, experiment with the shutter speed on your camera. Set it somewhere between 1/15 sec or 1/30 sec (sometimes even faster or slower). These are shot from a moving car, which makes it more difficult: it’s easier if you’re standing still, while the object you’re shooting is moving.

18 thoughts on “Panning a moving subject

  1. I’ve done it too, but I’ve mostly shot objects out of a moving train. You need faster shutter speed when you are (or the object is) moving at speeds over 100 kms per hour. You’ve seen some of those shots 🙂

  2. ‘hahaha’ – try to ‘shot’ the mouth of your mother in law when she’ speaking – maybe it could be as fast as the cars… ‘joke joke’

    😉

  3. Thanks for the tips – sometimes when I try to shoot things that are moving it doesn’t turn out (obviously) so I will give these panning tricks a try! 🙂

    • It’s also a great way to capture running kids or animals like dogs & horses, but obviously it’s easiest to practice on cars (since there’s such an abundance of them).

      • Oh exactly – kids are mental, and you can’t get them to slow down for pictures but if you can get the camera to work with them it’s brilliant!

      • Oh exactly – kids are mental, and you can’t get them to slow down for pictures but if you can get the camera to work with them it’s brilliant!

  4. I tried this on BMX bikes recently – got one good shot out of all the ones I tried. The bikes all disappeared before I caught them – back to the drawing board. Practice makes perfect. I’ll get the hang of it eventually. I think my challenge was focus lock. Do you set yours on manual focus?

Share your opinion

