Quicksand

Richard Guest (The Future Is Papier Mâché) was wondering about which musician he should choose because he wanted to name his posts/photos after songs. Someone suggested Frank Zappa, which was an excellent suggestion, because Zappa had a huge repertoire: a lot of titles to choose from and many of them are extravagant.

I suggested David Bowie so this week Mr. Guest decided to go for a David Bowie theme. I quickly decided to join him, so today I’m posting Quicksand (a song written by David Bowie in 1971 for the album Hunky Dory), while Mr. Guest posted Hello Spaceboy.

Photo shot in Grenoble, April 2011, by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com

Photo shot in Grenoble, April 2011, by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com

I’m torn between the light and dark
Where others see their targets
Divine symmetry
Should I kiss the viper’s fang
Or herald loud the death of Man
I’m sinking in the quicksand of my thought
And I ain’t got the power anymore

Don’t believe in yourself
Don’t deceive with belief
Knowledge comes with death’s release

I’m sinking in the quicksand of my thought
And I ain’t got the power anymore

David Bowie

19 thoughts on “Quicksand

  1. Loooooove David Bowie! We have one of those CD alarm clocks so we wake up to Ziggy Stardust every morning 🙂 it’s hard to be angry when you wake up to that song, I swear! On the opposite end of the spectrum the golds and browns in your picture remind me of drifting off to sleep all mellow and relaxed. Also, I like the blog redesign, very crisp and clean!

    • I remember that I used to dream about having one of those! But the alarm clocks in my life mysteriously disappeared around the same time as the cell phone was introduced.
      It must be nice to wake up to Zuiggy Stardust: I hate waking up from the alarm on my phone. I prefer waking up by myself.

      Glad you like the redesigned blog. I tried out a couple of different themes the last days, but ended on this one. The previous one didn’t have a search box…

    • that’s true. I have been to some interesting places. I highly recommend Grenoble. So now you can say that at least “1 out of … bloggers recommend Grenoble”.

  2. You made me take out my external music drive and look for Hunky Dory …. it’s been a while since I listened to it :). Thank you CG…. Btw this photo taken in Grenoble takes me to some other world, a world I would happily run to from this steaming office now… Beautiful work, and if I may say Bowie is one of my musical inspirations 🙂

Share your opinion

