B/W Close-up of Aloe Vera

I’m not much into photos of plants & flowers – normally I find them boring, but today I felt like taking some photos and after I came home from work I neither had the time or the energy to go on a motive hunt outside.
So, I had to improvise:

B/W close-up of an aloe vera plant

B/W close-up of an aloe vera plant. Click for larger image (No shit Sherlock!)

Useless trivia: This plant is actually the son/daughter of a “mother plant”. The mother has also produced 3 other babies – one which I gave to a friend.

According to Wikipedia Aloe Vera “are widely used in the cosmetics and alternative medicine industries, being marketed as variously having rejuvenating, healing or soothing properties. There is, however, little scientific evidence of the effectiveness or safety of A. vera extracts for either cosmetic or medicinal purposes, and what positive evidence is available is frequently contradicted by other studies. Medical uses of aloe vera are being investigated as well.

7 thoughts on “B/W Close-up of Aloe Vera

  1. Just got a message from the WordPress team that I’ve never seen before:

    “Most Likes in One Day
    On Wednesday March 21, 2012 you surpassed your previous record of most likes in one day for your posts on Cardinal Guzman. That’s pretty awesome, well done!
    Note: we started tracking this March 2012.”

    So, thanks to everyone that has liked my posts today & all previous days 😀

    • Thank you Francine. I am also pleased with this photo.
      But I think I’ll have to curb my enthusiasm regarding the new “like-stat features” of wordpress, because now I got a new message – almost identical to the last one except the day & date had changed:
      “Most Likes in One Day
      On Wednesday March 21, 2012 you surpassed your previous […] etc”

      Seems like they are trying to implement some new statistical tool and that it has some start-up bugs 😀

  2. Aloe Vera is big in the Mexican culture! Good for sun burn, good to put in blender shakes to help control diabetes. You name it, my people use it! And since you know I’m in to flower photos…I love this photo 🙂

  3. Cool… I always use aloe for sunburns. I’ve heard of other uses, but never tried them. I grew an aloe vera for years but with so many moves, the thing finally died. I’ll get one again when we get settled in our new home….soon, I hope.

Share your opinion

