Some years ago I wrote this recipe on Jalapeño Corn Bread and I figured out I could post it here in the blog (my other option would be to post it at the post office, where one used to post things back in the old days, but it’s too much of a hassle to drag my ass down to the post office). Anyway, as it turned out the photos weren’t suitable, which meant that I had to remake the cornbreads to be able to capture some new shoots.
 
Will there be snow on the mountain? Or perhaps dry flour & sugar?
Will there be snow on the mountain? Or perhaps dry flour & sugar?

Since we’re heading for the mountains this weekend (yes, I am very excited – we even rented a car: a proper automobile. Haha, no bus or public transportation this time. ooh, this reminds me that I have to transfer some music to my iPod: we don’t want to listen to the radio with all the commercials & the crappy music on the private channels and 100% political propaganda & crappy music on the Norwegian state-run channels!!), I had to bake the cornbreads last night.

I also decided to make vanilla extract from a recipe I found via WordPress’ Freshly Pressed.

Here’s my recipe for corn bread (everything in this blog is gluten-free):

Jalapeño Corn Bread.

sundried tomatoes, jalapenos & black olives
sun-dried tomatoes, jalapenos & black olives

Jalapeño Corn Bread – a great partner for chilli stew, soup or meat dishes.

It is also tasty served warm with butter. You can adjust the potency with the quantity of jalapeños… I usually make one with & one without.

Preparation: 5-10 Minutes
Cooking Time: 20-30 Minutes
Total time: 25-40 Minutes

Ingredients:

* 1 1 / 2 cup cornflour
* 1 / 2 cup light/white gluten-free flour
* 6 tablespoons sugar
* 2 teaspoons baking powder
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 / 2 teaspoon baking soda
* 2 eggs
* 1 cup of kefir
* 1 / 4 cup olive oil
* 3 whole jalapeno pepper, finely diced.

How-to:

1. In a bowl you mix the first 6 ingredients. Then add the jalapeños (or not).
In another bowl: whisk eggs, kefir and oil. Add this to the dry ingredients and stir it until you don’t need to stir it anymore.
Empty the batter in a silicon- or form with baking paper (apparently you can also use muffin cups, but I never tried it carefully watch the cooking time if you do).

2. Bake on 200°C for 20-30 minutes (200°C is equal to 392°F – The conversion formula is °F = (9/5 °C)+ 32° (Thank you internet! I love you!)), or until you can stick a toothpick or a chopstick (made of wood) near the center of the corn bread and pull it out dry. Cut in slices or in shapes (triangles or squares). Serve steaming hot and fresh!

If you find it too sweet, you can reduce the amount of sugar. Regular milk also works if you do not have kefir.
You can also take a tablespoon of lemon juice in a cup before you add regular milk and let it sit for five minutes.

Other options: experiment with adding sun-dried tomatoes or olives (add when/if you add jalapenos: great success! I like!).

cornbread & rum vanilla extract

What about the vanilla extract?
Here’s a summary of chefandsteward’s post: Ingredients: 3 medium-fat  vanilla beans and 1 cup good rum (not Bacardi), a sterilized airtight canning jar (Sterilize jar and lid by pouring boiling water over them covering them and letting them sit in the purifying, scalding bath for about 10 minutes).

Cut the vanilla beans in half, put them in the jar & cover with rum. Place in a dark cabinet for two months, shaking the bottle once per week.  If you have to place it in a cupboard that is opened frequently, simply wrap the bottle in a kitchen towel to keep it dark.