A girl at the market (weekly photo challenge – possibility)

Here’s a photo of a girl I captured at the market in Jerusalem. The market is known as the Shouk Mahne Yehuda, or just HaShouk (the shouk – the market). The poem I chose is written by american poet Shel Siverstein (September 25, 1930 – May 9/10, 1999).

Actually, this morning when I got up, I wasn’t aware that I knew any of his poetry, but as I was looking into poems/quotes/info to post with this picture I stumbled upon Shel Silverstein.

While I was looking into this poet I thought to myself: “Who is this poet? I have no idea who this is”. However, researching the subject, I learned that Silverstein wrote the lyrics to a song that I know very well – a song that I grew up with and listened to since I was a child. My dad used to play it on his old record player, and I still remember the sound of the vinyl crackling with my dad humming along to “A Boy Named Sue”.
The song was written by Shel Silverstein and performed by Johnny Cash who recorded the song live at California’s San Quentin State Prison at a concert on 24 February 1969.

Anyway, that’s not the poetry I’ll post with this picture. This poem, by Shel Silverstein, is called “Where the Sidewalk Ends”.

There is a place where the sidewalk ends
And before the street begins,
And there the grass grows soft and white,
And there the sun burns crimson bright,
And there the moon-bird rests from his flight
To cool in the peppermint wind.

Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black
And the dark street winds and bends.
Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow
We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And watch where the chalk-white arrows go
To the place where the sidewalk ends.

Yes we’ll walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And we’ll go where the chalk-white arrows go,
For the children, they mark, and the children, they know
The place where the sidewalk ends.

Here’s something I just discovered today:

Weekly Photo Challenge
http://maggiephotgraphy.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/weekly-photo-challenge-possibility/
http://busyellebee.wordpress.com/2011/10/14/weekly-photo-challenge-possibility/

Edit: I removed a link to a YouTube clip, because it was removed from YouTube.
(note to self: never add links to YouTube clips in posts. YouTube is unreliable)

19 thoughts on “A girl at the market (weekly photo challenge – possibility)

  1. Shel Silverstein . . . Yes, one of my favorites! I was not aware though, the he wrote “A Boy Named Sue,” a Johnny Cash classic. I remember my buddies and I singing that song along with Johnny, at the tops of our lungs when I was in high school. Fond memories, lovely poem (another fav) and photo.

    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog. I do appreciate it.

  2. the photo is very intriguing… she looks so intent. The poem you selected is beautiful. I havee never heard it before and I am now a fan of Silverstein. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks for positive feedback Maggie. I noticed the girl as I was looking for good shots at the market in Jerusalem, as you can see she stood out from the crowd.
      I agree that the poem is beautiful. The funny thing is that the poet is brand new for me too. Yesterday I had no idea who he was.

  3. Pingback: October 19th 2011…… | MyPoetryGrid.com

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity – cobweb « Cardinal Guzman

  5. Cool photo. Was it by chance or a surprise later?
    I know Shel’s poetry well. I work with kids and he is a favourite with them. Some is very thoughtful and others silly. The You Tube link is broken -saying it was taken down due to copyrights 😦

    • It was by accident. I just passed by with my camera, ready to shoot.

      Thanks for the heads up! That’s the biggest problem with YouTube: you link to some video clip, but suddenly some asshole at some record company tries to suck 2 dollars out of a dead mans penis, and the moment he realise that it’s not possible – he will suck whatever comes in his way…
      Hipp hurray penis! Hipp hurray U.S.A!

      • It is funny how anal it can be… I live in China and I was shocked how DVDs are like 75cents on the street… all copies. Everything is master copied here. In some ways it is great… like that expensive dress or suit… bring a photo and they will make it for you!
        Still that was an awesome picture. Sometimes the unexpected and unplanned make the best shots -as long as you can spot them 😉

  6. Pingback: Street Portait: A Girl at the Market | Cardinal Guzman

Share your opinion

