Illuminated Mount Pico, Açores

Mount-Pico_5358

f/1.8 | 30 sec | ISO-100 (of course you can click the image for a large version)

For the Weekly Photo Challenge this week I chose this photo of Mount Pico. I was supposed to post this earlier, but I forgot all about it. The photo was shot during one of my sleepless nights.

“Mount Pico (Portuguese: Montanha do Pico), is a stratovolcano and highest point on the Portuguese island of Pico in the Azores. Further, reaching an altitude of 2,351 metres above sea level, it is more than twice the elevation of any other peak in the Azores, and the tallest mountain in Portugal.” (Wikipedia)

54 thoughts on “Illuminated Mount Pico, Açores

  1. This is dreamy and creamy :) Sleepless nights can turn out so good!!! Thank you for showing Mount Pico in this light. I swear I’ll go there. Beautiful…. a really beautiful shot!!!!

    • Sleepless nights can be truly awesome ;)

      Actually the light is not representative of the reality. I couldn’t actually see the mountain, but I knew it was there. This was around 5 in the morning, it was so dark that I had to shoot several test shots with the ISO settings at max so that I could set the focus.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination | Far Away

    • Thank you Kathryn.
      I woke up in the middle of the night, so I decided to bring the camera and go for a walk. I always try to shoot at different times when I’m visiting a place (I also do the same when I’m at home).

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination « What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination | heartfelt images

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination | Four Deer Oak

  6. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: illumination « my sweetpainteddreams

  7. Pingback: Portuguese wildlife victory | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination (2) « What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « Pictures for Froghopper

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenga: Illumination (3) « What's (in) the picture?

  11. Pingback: Azores bullfinch news | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Share your opinion

