May Day at the Botanical Garden in Oslo

I know for a fact that many of my readers and many bloggers out there love photos of Flora. Some of them are even borderline obsessed with it. So, if you’re one of those who are obsessed, borderline obsessed or just enjoy photos of plants & flowers. Consider this your lucky day!

Because it’s the 1st of May today most of the people in Norway all had the privilege of not having to go to their boring jobs. A lot of people believe that this is because the 1st of May is the “International Workers’ Day” – a celebration of the international labour movement and left-wing movements.
But this is all a scam. Just like Easter and Christmas has been stolen, so has this day:

“May Day on May 1 is an ancient Northern Hemisphere spring festival and usually a public holiday; it is also a traditional spring holiday in many cultures.
The earliest May Day celebrations appeared in pre-Christian times, with the festival of Flora, the Roman goddess of flowers.” (Wikipedia)

And what better way to celebrate the festival of Flora, the Roman goddess of flowers, than with a visit to the botanical garden?

We started out the day with breakfast and a cup of espresso with hawaij and steamed milk. Hawaij is a Yemenite spice recipe that you can read more about in this post: Hawaij – spice blend from Yemen

Some background info on the Botanical Garden in Oslo from Wikipedia:

“The University Botanical Garden at Tøyen in Oslo is Norway’s oldest botanical garden, established in 1814. It is administrated by the University of Oslo.

The University of Oslo’s oldest building, the Tøyen Manor which was given as a gift in 1812, is located in the garden. The garden originally covered 75,000 square metres, but has since doubled in size. The collection includes roughly 35,000 plants of about 7500 unique species.”

34 thoughts on “May Day at the Botanical Garden in Oslo

    • It’s a camera friendly place. Still it’s still very early; the growing season has just started, but very shortly the place will explode in plants and flowers.
      BTW: Great post you had about April showers & May flowers :)

  1. Ok, I’m really jealous! I’m working and your were, where you were (-: Yes, I’m a flora macro photography guy, but I shoot other stuff as well.

    Slightly drooling as it looks like a place I would spend the day and return often. I bet they allow photographers to use a tripod!! The Spokane, WA small version of this placed outlawed them a year ago /-: Difficult to get sharp macro images w/o one.

    Thanks for the photos!

    • I didn’t bring my tripod, but I’m sure they allow it. Why shouldn’t they?
      If you ever come to Oslo I’ll gladly show you the Botanical Garden. It’s right next to the Munch Museum.

      It was really nice to have a day off work. I’m in the same boat as most other workers on this planet: my job is boring and lame. Basically it’s just a waste of the precious, short amount of time we are lucky enough to get to spend here on this planet…

      A few weeks from now it’s Independence Day (or National Day like they call it around here), which means another day off :)

  2. Pingback: Botanical Garden Peek « myldmc

  3. That’s a wonderful set of photos! I enjoyed all of them equally. We almost got to see you there in a mirror image :)
    1st of May here is …nothing — just an ordinary day, and too early for flowers in the Public Gardens…

    • Almost, but not quite. I had to brighten up the reflection a little bit, or else you wouldn’t see anything. Maybe I’ll post a self portrait some day. I’ve only posted an oil painted self-portrait, which doesn’t really count…
      There’s not a lot of flowers here either. Most of these are shot in one of the green-houses at the Botanical Garden…

  4. All the photographs are stunning,Nature at its best…can you please tell me the names of the yellow flower and the white one with red sprinkled on edge..they are so beautiful..

    • On the sign that belongs to the yellow one, it says: lysichiton americanum.
      I would tell you all of them if I could, but I have no idea… The only thing I can name here is tulips, kakti & flowers. In other words: not very specific.

  5. Pingback: Botanical Garden « myldmc

  6. What a great day out and thanks for the fantastic tour through this wonderland. BTW I know some people who celebrate the seasonal changes pre-christian style – they are very happy pagans!

  7. All very nice :) I used to have a jade plant like the one in your second picture (maybe not quite that big, but same idea!) but it seems like I can not keep any thing alive any more. I used to be really good at it but I lost my green thumb I guess. My friends Emily and Jon got me a Calla Lily for my birthday and I’m struggling to keep IT alive, so we shall see ;) thanks for sharing these with us!

    • I have a table full of plants next to my computer. They seem to like each others company, because they’re constantly expanding. A few of them even blossom every now and then.

Share your opinion

